Constrict DCs (When None Exist)


Rules Discussion


Hey all, I’ve noticed some creatures with Constrict, like the Giant Octopus or the Sea Serpent, have Constrict listed but no DC for the fortitude save.

Constrict, RAW says “ The monster deals the listed amount of damage to any number of creatures grabbed or restrained by it. Each of those creatures can attempt a basic Fortitude save with the listed DC.”

So, if a creature has a Constrict but no listed DC, how would you handle that? Would you assign a DC, or does that mean in those cases it is just automatic damage?


Of the 26 creatures in the bestiary with either the "Constrict" or "Greater Constrict" 4 of them have no listed DC (all 4 of them also have Constrict, not the greater version).

Based on the text of Constrict as found in the ability glossary all of these monster should have DCs, and if they don't, they should have some special text explaining the change.

Given the rules text and the number of creatures affected by the problem I'm willing to assume this is an error, and that they should have DCs. Luckily all of the affected monsters have at least one ability that calls for a saving throw, so copying that number should work fine for the most part (in fact all but the shoggoth have Fort save targeting abilities).


For reference;

Have Constrict and NO DC
Dezullon
Giant Octopus
Sea Serpent
Shoggoth

Have Constict and a DC
Chuul
Pit Fiend
Salamander
Quatoid
Gogiteth
Kraken
All Linnorms (Crag, Ice, Tarn, and Tor)
Ochre Jelly
Black Pudding
Otyugh
Naunet Protean
Keketar Protean
Reefclaw
Giant Scorpion
Ball Python
Wemmuth

Have Greater Constrict and a DC
Marilith
Mu Spore
Giant Anaconda


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Lost In Limbo wrote:

For reference;

Have Constrict and NO DC
Dezullon
Giant Octopus
Sea Serpent
Shoggoth

Here are the DCs Lost in Limbo recommended using:

Dezullon - DC 29
Giant Octopus - DC 26
Sea Serpent - DC 34
Shoggoth - DC 40 (probably)


Thanks for the info, guys!


How do you calculate that?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Genius3e8 wrote:
How do you calculate that?

When using thread necromancy, it is proper courtesy to at least give some context about what, specifically, you are talking about.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Genius3e8 wrote:
How do you calculate that?

The DCs? They aren't calculated. They're taken from other abities those monsters have that require a save, like the Shoggoth's Engulf, which is not missing that information.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Genius3e8 wrote:
How do you calculate that?

You don't. You just look up the DCs on the monster tables in the GameMastery Guide:

[Monster Tables]

Liberty's Edge

Ravingdork wrote:
Here are the DCs Lost in Limbo recommended using:

Since we’re here, what or who is Lost in Limbo?


Luke Styer wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:
Here are the DCs Lost in Limbo recommended using:
Since we’re here, what or who is Lost in Limbo?

An earlier post up thread.


Me.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Constrict DCs (When None Exist) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.