| jcheung |
| 15 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Constellation Blast PHOTON REVELATION
D When you’re fully photon-attuned, as a standard action, you
can create a momentary chain of bursting energy that burns
through the terrain. When you use this ability, you create
three 10-foot-radius bursts within 60 feet of you, each of
which cannot overlap and must be centered no more than
15 feet from the center of one other radius. You deal 5d6 fire
damage, plus 1d6 for every 2 solarian levels you have beyond
9th, to each creature in each radius. An affected creature can
attempt a Reflex save to take half damage. At 17th level, you
can create three, four, or five bursts when using this ability.
The wording here is difficult to read, at best.
At first glance, myself and several other people immediately thought "this is literally impossible, you can't have two 10ft radius blasts centered within 15 feet without overlap"The only way to make it work is by really reading and rereading it, and potentially mangling the stuffing out of it by applying the 15 ft outer limit to half the radius, or 5 feet away from the center of a burst, effectively 20 feet away... which also make the lower limit, 20 feet away from the center of the burst due to no overlap. Basically, jump through hoops to even make it work.
Which brings me to...
Is this ability intended to fix the center of a blast 20 feet from the center of another blast, or is there supposed to be some leeway?
Is it supposed to instead be diameter rather than radius?
Apologies if i've rambled a bit.
| Hithesius |
That doesn't solve the issue. A must be no more than 15 feet from B, while also not overlapping with B. A and B both have 10 foot radii. It is mathematically impossible to have two circles with 10 foot radii not overlap if the distance between their centers is less than 20 feet. C and B have the same issue. That C and A do not have to directly connect to each other does not remove the issue they both have with B.
The questions in the OP still stand.
| HammerJack |
I know that no one can have a definitive answer on this question, but please click that FAQ button. This ability currently cannot be used without selecting a house rule.
Also note that Nebula Storm has the same issue.
Joe Pasini
Starfinder Lead Designer
|
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
Issue addressed in the FAQ.
Thanks for asking and flagging for FAQ!