Can you Intimidate the Intimidated?


Swashbuckler Playtest

Paizo Employee Developer

Exemplary Finisher (9th) let's you remove a target's temporary immunity to your demoralize action. If the opponent is still Frightened 1 from your Demoralize, can you attempt to Demoralize them further?

Like let's say you are a Hobgoblin with Agonizing Rebuke. You Demoralize your opponent with 1 action and get a Success. You get Panache. They are Frightened 1. You use the Panache on a Finisher as your second action. For your third action, you can then Demoralize your opponent again.

This has the added benefit of:
• Potentially getting a Critical Success to upgrade them to Frightened 2.
• Activating Agonizing Rebuke a second time to double the ongoing damage.
• Regaining Panache.

Stacking multiple Agonizing Rebukes, especially with Agonizing Lash, seems pretty strong.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm not sure agonising rebuke stacks.

To me it seems exactly like what would fall under the Duplicate effect rule:

"When you’re affected by the same thing multiple times, only one instance applies, using the higher level of the effects, or the newer effect if the two are the same level"

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Advanced Player’s Guide Playtest / Swashbuckler Playtest / Can you Intimidate the Intimidated? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Swashbuckler Playtest