Monster & NPC Damage + Combat Maneuver


Rules Discussion


If a monster or NPC has damage listed as such:

Damage 2d6+6 slashing plus Grab

Does that mean it gets a chance to roll that combat maneuver, or is it automatic?


Grab Requirements

The monster’s last action was a success with a Strike that lists Grab in its damage entry, or it has a creature grabbed using this action. Effect The monster automatically Grabs the target until the end of the monster’s next turn. The creature is grabbed by whichever body part the monster attacked with, and that body part can’t be used to Strike creatures until the grab is ended.
Using Grab extends the duration of the monster’s Grab until the end of its next turn for all creatures grabbed by it. A grabbed creature can use the Escape action to get out of the grab, and the Grab ends for a grabbed creatures if the monster moves away from it.


Captain Morgan wrote:
Effect The monster automatically Grabs the target

So it’s automatic. Thanks!


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Yeah, I was surprised by that at first, but IMHO it's very thematic and makes those monsters adversaries to be feared.

Be sure to reference the "grabbed" condition. Someone who is "grabbed" still has many options.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
TheBigBlueFrog wrote:
So it’s automatic.

It’s automatic, but note that it does require expenditure of an action unless it’s Improved Grab. So if the monster hits on its third action it can’t grab. Deciding the order to take monster actions can be a little tricky sometimes.


TheBigBlueFrog wrote:
Captain Morgan wrote:
Effect The monster automatically Grabs the target
So it’s automatic. Thanks!

Automatic with an action unless it's Improved Grab.

This is why you don't stand toe-to-toe w/ Zombies. If they have to move before they Strike, then they can't Grab (since usually they're Slowed 1).

Since Constrict or Swallow Whole usually take an action too, this often means they can't finish their whole routine in one go. Getting Slowed 1 or Stunned 1 on such an enemy, especially a boss, can make a huge difference, even if for 1 round on a successful save vs. spell.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks, everyone. I found the rules in the back of the Bestiary after I knew what to look for.


Castilliano wrote:
TheBigBlueFrog wrote:
Captain Morgan wrote:
Effect The monster automatically Grabs the target
So it’s automatic. Thanks!

Automatic with an action unless it's Improved Grab.

This is why you don't stand toe-to-toe w/ Zombies. If they have to move before they Strike, then they can't Grab (since usually they're Slowed 1).

Since Constrict or Swallow Whole usually take an action too, this often means they can't finish their whole routine in one go. Getting Slowed 1 or Stunned 1 on such an enemy, especially a boss, can make a huge difference, even if for 1 round on a successful save vs. spell.

Hard trouble but i did swallow whole a Goblin pc on my latest session, the look on their faces....

It was on Age of Ashes

Spoiler:
The Warg swallowed a Goblin :) .

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Monster & NPC Damage + Combat Maneuver All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.