COTCT Scenario 4A move question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


The scenario (and later scenarios) say "When you move to or from the base without playing a boon to move, bury a boon". Will you need to bury a boon if you are moved to the base by another effect, such as the "move to a random location" effect of a monster or barrier?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A recent ruling/errata/FAQ said that base does not count toward the "random locations". See Curse FAQ:
https://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nrupch3h#v5748eaidgstc
In short, I don't think you can be moved involuntarily there. You may choose to move there, if you want...


Related question:

When you leave the base, you shuffle any Supporters in your hand back into the location. Is that "simultaneous" with the bury, i.e. could you bury a Supporter (in hand) instead of shuffling it and burying one of your own cards?


Sathar wrote:

Related question:

When you leave the base, you shuffle any Supporters in your hand back into the location. Is that "simultaneous" with the bury, i.e. could you bury a Supporter (in hand) instead of shuffling it and burying one of your own cards?

Sure looks that way.


Sathar wrote:

Related question:

When you leave the base, you shuffle any Supporters in your hand back into the location. Is that "simultaneous" with the bury, i.e. could you bury a Supporter (in hand) instead of shuffling it and burying one of your own cards?

The timing is right, but no you cannot bury a Supporter from your hand to the scenario power (for a different reason).

The scenario power explicitly states to "bury a boon", but Supporters are not boons; they're Support Cards (which are neither boon nor bane). See the storybook and rulebook quotes below...

Curse of the Crimson Throne Storybook, Page 3, emphasis added wrote:
Supporters are a new type of support card...
Core Rulebook, Page 21, emphasis added wrote:
Support cards supplement various features of the game. Support cards do not count as either banes or boons.


Sathar wrote:
When you leave the base, you shuffle any Supporters in your hand back into the location.

Where is this rule or constraint found?


Slacker2010 wrote:
Sathar wrote:
When you leave the base, you shuffle any Supporters in your hand back into the location.
Where is this rule or constraint found?

Curse of the Crimson Throne storybook. which is the only source of the complete rules for the Base and Supporters (not counting the recent FAQ for the Base).

Curse of the Crimson Throne Storybook, Page 4, emphasis added wrote:
You may play supporters from your hand only while you are at the Base. Once displayed next to your character, you may use their powers regardless of your location. If you move from the Base, shuffle any supporters in your hand into the Base. At the end of each scenario, return all supporters to the vault.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / COTCT Scenario 4A move question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion