| Qaianna |
I haven't found this yet, so I figured I'd ask.
Ever since second edition of a more famous game, bucklers were something an archer could use while archering as a way of dealing with an enemy's unfavourable reaction to arrows. Weird, but it was In The Rules.
So here we are at Pathfinder 2d edition.
Buckler: 'You can Raise a Shield with your buckler as long as you have that hand free or are holding a light object that’s not a weapon in that hand.'
Bow: 'You can hold a weapon with a 1+ entry in one hand, but the process of shooting it requires using a second to retrieve, nock, and loose an arrow. This means you can do things with your free hand while holding the bow without changing your grip, but the other hand must be free when you shoot. To properly wield a 1+ weapon, you must hold it in one hand and also have a hand free.'
So ... this likely means that Lefty the Archer can't strap a buckler on the right arm since that's the one holding the bow. But could Lefty strap it on the other arm -- the + instead of the 1 -- and be within The Rules?
| ErichAD |
You could strap the buckler to either arm. If it's on an arm without a weapon in it, then you can raise the buckler. Your bow hand has a weapon in it. Your arrow hand only has a weapon in it while firing. So for handedness purposes, an archer would wear a buckler on their dominant hand.
Due to how the game is shaped, you could raise your shield with your arrow hand, fire a few arrows, and your shield would still be up.