
Nicolas Fuchs |
If you're a Holy Tactician Paladin, you can share a teamwork feat with allies and they don't need to meet the prerequisites. What if I share the teamwork feat "Rat Stack," [which I qualify for as a ratfolk] which says: "You can occupy the same square with up to two other creatures that also have this feat."
Does this mean I could share this teamwork feat and then three people (regardless of their size/character race) could stack up in one square?
Are the people sharing spaces considered to be squeezing?: In the ratfolk description of swarming, it doesn't actually say anything about negating squeezing penalties -> I think when you're sharing a space (which is normally illegal to do), you ignore the squeezing rules since you're not actually squeezing.

Dave Justus |

I believe that it would allow creatures to share the same space regardless of size. It wouldn't change the space of any of the creatures though, so a large creature would still take up 4 squares, but those squares could have allys in it.
They wouldn't get the flanking bonus, because that comes from the swarming racial trait, not rat stack, so it would be of fairly limited utility.
Squeezing doesn't have anything at all do to with occupying the same space. You don't 'ignore the rule' it still applies if the area is too small for you, but other creatures being there doesn't have anything to do with that.

Nicolas Fuchs |
"I believe that it would allow creatures to share the same space regardless of size. It wouldn't change the space of any of the creatures though, so a large creature would still take up 4 squares, but those squares could have allys in it."
Fully agreed!
"They wouldn't get the flanking bonus, because that comes from the swarming racial trait, not rat stack, so it would be of fairly limited utility."
Agreed that they don't get the flanking bonus. However, I think this actually has a specific use that I run into a lot: when multiple front liners get stuck behind each other in a 5 foot wide corridor (especially when a monster is blocking the path) or can't decide who will open a door first. Plus, now nobody is providing soft cover to opponents.
"Squeezing doesn't have anything at all do to with occupying the same space. You don't 'ignore the rule' it still applies if the area is too small for you, but other creatures being there doesn't have anything to do with that."
That makes sense! Thanks!

Dave Justus |

I will note that I might disallow this as a GM for simple logistical reasons when using miniatures and a grid if it became cumbersome. This wouldn't be based on any rules.
I'd certainly clear this with a GM before doing it, and I would choose not to try it in an environment like PFS since it is fairly esoteric and I wouldn't want to put a GM on the spot.