Cascading Free Actions


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

My understanding is that Free Actions don't take any particular action to use and that they can be triggered by other actions without using your Reaction.

Could a Sorcerer/Wizard therefore use Effortless Concentration to Sustain a spell (trigger: Your turn begins), then use Quickened Casting (no trigger) to reduce a spell action cost, then use Bespell Weapon (trigger: your most recent action was to cast a non-cantrip) and enhance a weapon, then use the extra action saved to Strike with the newly enhanced weapon?

Is there a limit on the number of Free actions per turn that I missed?

Does using Free Action count as having acted? Can I use Effortless Concentration and Drain Bonded Item?


There is not a hard limit on how many free actions you can use in a turn, but at least the triggers of "your turn begins" and "your turn ends" are limited to only allowing 1 free action - presumably other triggers would be similarly limited to 1 thing per trigger, but I can't find a hard quote on that.

As for counting as having acted, I'd go with yes since the rules say "If you can't act you can't take any actions, including reactions and free actions." Illustrating that other than timing/resource cost they are all treated as the same thing (action).


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps, Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber
thenobledrake wrote:
presumably other triggers would be similarly limited to 1 thing per trigger, but I can't find a hard quote on that.
CRB p. 17, Free Actions wrote:
Free actions don’t require you to spend any of your three single actions or your reaction. A free action might have a trigger like a reaction does. If so, you can use it just like a reaction—even if it’s not your turn. However, you can use only one free action per trigger, so if you have multiple free actions with the same trigger, you have to decide which to use. If a free action doesn’t have a trigger, you use it like a single action, just without spending any of your actions for the turn.
BishopMcQ wrote:
Could a Sorcerer/Wizard therefore use Effortless Concentration to Sustain a spell (trigger: Your turn begins), then use Quickened Casting (no trigger) to reduce a spell action cost, then use Bespell Weapon (trigger: your most recent action was to cast a non-cantrip) and enhance a weapon, then use the extra action saved to Strike with the newly enhanced weapon?

Quickened Casting requires your next action to be a cantrip or spell (with certain level restrictions). However, Bespell Weapon is neither of these - it is a feat. Further, Bespell Weapon requires your previous action to be a non-cantrip spell, and Quickened Casting is not a spell, but a feat.


BishopMcQ wrote:
Does using Free Action count as having acted?

Yes

BishopMcQ wrote:
Can I use Effortless Concentration and Drain Bonded Item?

No


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
logsig wrote:
Quickened Casting requires your next action to be a cantrip or spell (with certain level restrictions). However, Bespell Weapon is neither of these - it is a feat. Further, Bespell Weapon requires your previous action to be a non-cantrip spell, and Quickened Casting is not a spell, but a feat.

Sorry, I should have been clearer. Quickened Casting, cast a spell, Bespell Weapon.

So my turn would look like:
Free Action - Effortless Concentration to Sustain a Spell
Free Action - Quickened Casting
Single Action - Cast Fireball (reduced from 2 actions)
Free Action - Bespell Weapon (add 1d6 Fire to Weapon until End of Turn)
Single Action - Stride
Single Action - Strike

That feels like a lot of actions for a single turn.


BishopMcQ wrote:
That feels like a lot of actions for a single turn.

Mechanically, it's a lot of actions, but narratively all those free actions aren't actions of their own per se, but modifications to other actions. So your wizard is still doing three things on their turn, which is casting, moving, and hitting a guy.

Edit: correction, four things with the sustaining, which is not modifying like the rest.


BishopMcQ wrote:
logsig wrote:
Quickened Casting requires your next action to be a cantrip or spell (with certain level restrictions). However, Bespell Weapon is neither of these - it is a feat. Further, Bespell Weapon requires your previous action to be a non-cantrip spell, and Quickened Casting is not a spell, but a feat.

Sorry, I should have been clearer. Quickened Casting, cast a spell, Bespell Weapon.

So my turn would look like:
Free Action - Effortless Concentration to Sustain a Spell
Free Action - Quickened Casting
Single Action - Cast Fireball (reduced from 2 actions)
Free Action - Bespell Weapon (add 1d6 Fire to Weapon until End of Turn)
Single Action - Stride
Single Action - Strike

That feels like a lot of actions for a single turn.

Looks legal to me

EDIT: It is indeed a lot of actions, but consider that it requires use of the once-per-day Quicken feat to get there, so it's not like you can do it all the time. I see no issues with that sequence of actions at all.


It's a lot of actions but you also spent a lot of feats. And quicken is only 1/day.
But it looks like a valid turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Cascading Free Actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion