Crafting: do you need to be able to cast the spell to make potions, oils, and ammunition?


Rules Discussion


Crafting: do you need to be able to cast the spell to make potions, oils, and ammunition? Or just the Magical Crafting feat.


As far as I'm aware, only scrolls say they specifically need someone to cast the spell as part of the process of Crafting them, so I'd say you do not need to be able to cast spells. Even for scrolls, the crafter doesn't necessarily need to be the one casting the spells.


For potions, oils, and ammunition, you just need the Magical Crafting feat and anything that may appear in Crafting Requirements for a particular item.

For scrolls and wands you need to either cast the spell (just once) during the process or have someone else do so in your presence.

Staves generally require one casting each of every listed level of every listed spell in the staff, but that'll be spelled out explicitly in the Casting Requirements for each item.


Thank you guys!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Crafting: do you need to be able to cast the spell to make potions, oils, and ammunition? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.