Combat Grab


Rules Discussion


Can the fighter combat grab move effect creatures that are two or three sizes larger I know there are limits on the size in the grab action but not sure about this action and ensnaring strike.


I would say no. Nothing says you can bypass the size limit.

But there is a feat, Titan Wrestler, that will let you do it.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

But there is no general size limit to bypass. Rather, each thing that has a size limit says so explicitly, including Grapple. Combat Grab neither specifies a size limit nor incorporates one by reference---note that it does not use/reference Grapple, only the grabbed condition. So AFAICT you can use Combat Grab on anything. No idea whether this is the intent, though.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
But there is no general size limit to bypass. Rather, each thing that has a size limit says so explicitly, including Grapple. Combat Grab neither specifies a size limit nor incorporates one by reference---note that it does not use/reference Grapple, only the grabbed condition. So AFAICT you can use Combat Grab on anything. No idea whether this is the intent, though.

That's what I thought but wanted to check other paizo fu


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
But there is no general size limit to bypass. Rather, each thing that has a size limit says so explicitly, including Grapple. Combat Grab neither specifies a size limit nor incorporates one by reference---note that it does not use/reference Grapple, only the grabbed condition. So AFAICT you can use Combat Grab on anything. No idea whether this is the intent, though.

Good point.

Yea, it is just the grapple action that has the size restriction. Same with trip as well.

So yea, grab anyone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Combat Grab All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.