Emanations?


Rules Discussion

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm comparing the description of an emenation, on p457, with the diagram on the previous page, and seeing a discrepancy. The description specifically says

Quote:

An emanation issues forth from each side of your space,

extending out to a specified number of feet in all directions.
For instance, the bless spell’s emanation radiates 5 or more
feet outward from the caster

So...is this intended to include the caster in the area, or not? The diagram shows the caster's spaces as included...but the example description specifically says outward, which would mean away from each edge of the cater's space.


I haven’t checked all spells, but Bless includes the caster’s square. I suspect the target description obviates any ambiguity.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The description makes sense if you assume that "An emanation [starts in your space and] issues forth from..." is implied.


Are there any damage spells with emanation areas? I haven't looked through the entire list of spells yet.

If there are, I would hope that you could exclude your own space when dealing damage. If not, then that would be a good reason to not cast that spell...

If there aren't any damaging emanations, then I would think that an emanation should always include your own space unless the spell says otherwise.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Alchemical Wonder wrote:
I haven’t checked all spells, but Bless includes the caster’s square. I suspect the target description obviates any ambiguity.

As a counterexample, look at Bless's description, which specifically says 'Area 5-foot emanation; Targets you and allies in the area'

'breithauptclan" wrote:

Are there any damage spells with emanation areas? I haven't looked through the entire list of spells yet.

If there are, I would hope that you could exclude your own space when dealing damage.

The first example most people will look at is Heal or Harm, when cast as a 3-action spell. It affects all living or undead creatures in the area...so, does it affect the caster? It doesn't explicitly say whether it does or not. And the description of emanation is a little ambiguous.

I also found Divine Decree, on p331, which has a 40' emanation and 'You deal 7d10 damage to creatures in the area; each creature must attempt a Fortitude save. Creatures with an alignment that matches the one you chose are unaffected by the spell. Those that neither match nor oppose it treat the result of their saving throw as one degree better and don’t suffer effects other than damage.' So, if you for some reason pick an alignment that you don't match (but your deity does), will you be affected by this spell or not?

Liberty's Edge

breithauptclan wrote:

Are there any damage spells with emanation areas? I haven't looked through the entire list of spells yet.

If there are, I would hope that you could exclude your own space when dealing damage. If not, then that would be a good reason to not cast that spell...

If there aren't any damaging emanations, then I would think that an emanation should always include your own space unless the spell says otherwise.

But the description specifically says otherwise. It issues from the edges of your square outward.

And in the example of play it says bless "effects all my allies beside me" not the cleric.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Meadow lark wrote:


But the description specifically says otherwise. It issues from the edges of your square outward.

So, is the diagram wrong, or not? Would be nice to have confirmation of this conflict.

Quote:
And in the example of play it says bless "effects all my allies beside me" not the cleric.

Examples are rarely good indicators of rules, since they are often written out of sync with the rules they pertain to. Plus, the description of Bless specifically says it affects the caster, PLUS the emanation, meaning the description in the example of play is at best inaccurate.


So some emanation area spells specify whether they affect the caster or not.

For the others (until we get more solid rules clarification on this), I am probably going to run it as caster's choice whether the caster's own square is affected or not.

Because I can't see many people signing up to cast Harm if they always have to include themselves as a target.

Grand Lodge

Do Emanations require Line of Effect?

Inspire courage is an Emanation, so if I round a corner am I no longer inspired?

I am confused on this front.


Thewms wrote:

Do Emanations require Line of Effect?

Inspire courage is an Emanation, so if I round a corner am I no longer inspired?

I am confused on this front.

Spells need line of effect from their origin to a creature to affect it (paragraph 2). So yes, losing line of effect to the bard removes your bonus.

Edit to add the similar passage found in the spells chapter which just refers you to the earlier link.

Grand Lodge

BellyBeard wrote:
Thewms wrote:

Do Emanations require Line of Effect?

Inspire courage is an Emanation, so if I round a corner am I no longer inspired?

I am confused on this front.

Spells need line of effect from their origin to a creature to affect it (paragraph 2). So yes, losing line of effect to the bard removes your bonus.

Edit to add the similar passage found in the spells chapter which just refers you to the earlier link.

Are there any effects that affect creatures around corners in this edition? is there a difference between an Aura and an Emanation? they seem to be the same. The CRB only describes it as...

"aura An aura is an emanation that continually ebbs out from you, affecting creatures within a certain radius. Aura can also refer to the magical signature of an item or a creature with a strong alignment."

How about the Xulgath (Troglodyte)stench ability? It is an Aura and thus an Emanation but so long as I put a wall in between us I can't smell it?

my braaaaaiiiinnnnn

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Emanations? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion