| Kalderaan |
So, a Starfinder Backpack (Armory, pg. 116) states the following:
While wearing a Starfinder backpack, treat your Strength score as 4 higher for determining your carrying capacity. This increase doesn’t stack with other backpacks. When you seek an object stowed in the backpack, you find it immediately, allowing you to retrieve the object as if you were drawing a weapon. In addition, you can stow objects of 1 bulk or less in the pack as if you were sheathing a weapon.
Specifically, I am calling out the reference to this: as if you were drawing a weapon.
Next, look at the Quick Draw feat (CRB). It states this:
You can draw a weapon as a swift action. Additionally, when making an attack using a thrown weapon as an attack or full attack action, you can draw a weapon as part of the action of making a thrown attack with it. You can draw a hidden weapon (see Sleight of Hand on page 146) as a move action.
It begs the question - can a character with Quick Draw retrieve an object from the Starfinder Backpack as a swift action?
| HammerJack |
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
I did specify a plausible reason. Ruling that the ability to retrieve items as if drawing a weapon didn't work like drawing a weapon because they aren't weapons would be nonsense.
There are a lot of ambiguous rules and rule interactions with multiple readings in this game. This is a case where it's clear enough that I can confidently declare that there is no actual ambiguity.
| The Artificer |
I did specify a plausible reason. Ruling that the ability to retrieve items as if drawing a weapon didn't work like drawing a weapon because they aren't weapons would be nonsense.
There are a lot of ambiguous rules and rule interactions with multiple readings in this game. This is a case where it's clear enough that I can confidently declare that there is no actual ambiguity.
I concur, when my players take a feat, I tend to be more permissive for we all find it to be more fun that way.
| breithauptclan |
With the most pedantic rules-lawyering I can muster:
The Quick Draw feat very clearly states that it only works on weapons.
However, the Starfinder Backpack also very clearly states that you treat the object as though it is a weapon when you retrieve it. Even though the object is not actually a weapon.
So yeah. I can't come up with an argument that makes it not work.
Gabbers "Gab" McTalkington
|
The Quck Draw bit about thrown weapons specifies "thrown weapon as an attack or full attack action." If the thrown object counts as a ranged attack (targeting a square as a grenade) using the attack action, then I suppose you could argue the object is actually an improvised thrown weapon, and it would apply.
But in that case, you would also have to account for lack of proficiency.