Toccata and the Furgue of the Danse Macabre save DC?


Rules Questions


So, towards the end of our session today, my GM and I got abit in an arguement over the Bardic Masterpiece Toccata and the Furgue of the Danse Maccabre. He thinks it gives intellegent Undead a saving throw to notice my party, as per Hide from Undead but I don't think so, especially since when it's plugged-into Hero Lab, it displays no saving throw for it. So, I'm asking Paizo themselves here, does it or does it NOT give intellegent Undead a saving throw. My GM says he's willing to take it my way if Paizo themselves tells me it gives intellegent Undead a saving throw. I'm willing to take either way you give me it Paizo, I need to know the truth, since the description for the Bardic Masterpiece is written in such a way me and my GM had that arguement. Please answer.


They would get a save, DC 10 + 1/2 level + cha

The rules are clear, if you're following it for hide from undead you must abide by all caveats. This includes the saves intelligent undead get.


Cavall wrote:

They would get a save, DC 10 + 1/2 level + cha

The rules are clear, if you're following it for hide from undead you must abide by all caveats. This includes the saves intelligent undead get.

^this also you cant always trust hero lab not everything they say works the way its programmed into.


I'm afraid your chances of getting an official answer from Paizo are negligible, as they are very busy and there are tons and tons of forum questions. What you can get are a bunch of answers from people who know the rules very well and are good at interpreting them. If they ("we" in this case) all agree, they're really probably right.

My answer is that Cavall is correct.

Toccata and Fugue of the Danse Macabre wrote:
Upon completing the performance, you and up to one ally per level within listening range become hidden from undead, as if under the effects of a hide from undead spell.

"As if" means "functions identically to" not "is reminiscent of"; it's a way for them to save space by not repeating rules text. Therefore this applies:

Hide from Undead wrote:
An intelligent undead creature gets a single Will saving throw.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Toccata and the Furgue of the Danse Macabre save DC? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.