Magical Lineage and the Available Spell List


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

I'm looking at making an elven Oracle with the Ancient Lorekeeper archetype. I want to get the Magical Lineage trait and have the associated spell as Shocking Grasp. Now, Shocking Grasp is normally not on the Oracle spell list. However, as an Ancient Lorekeeper, I can eventually select it off of the Wizard spell list and add it to my own. I feel like using Magical Lineage in this way would be allowable as the spell will eventually be on my Oracle's spell list.

Am I understanding this correctly? Can the Magical Lineage trait be used this way?


It should be fine. Magical lineage does not specify that the spell has to be one that your character knows or can cast.

Grand Lodge

LordKailas wrote:
It should be fine. Magical lineage does not specify that the spell has to be one that your character knows or can cast.

That was my thinking on it as well. I just wanted to make sure there hadn't been some kind of official ruling on it that I couldn't find.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magical Lineage and the Available Spell List All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions