| Samaelstrom |
Hello, could someone give a rough example of the amount of spells a Wizard might have with a +3 Intelligence modifier at caster level 4? Also, a sorcerer is using some strange application on his phone that has Volcanic Storm as a cantrip. Now, if I'm not mistaken, I thought these spells were supposed to be "inconsequential", and, therefore, have unlimited uses if they're level 0. 3d6 Bludgeoning and 2d6 fire is completely destroying this early game (I'm DMing, very new) and is DEFINITELY NOT inconsequential. So why is this showing up in his cantrip list? I even saw that it was in the app, and I have to assume that the app is just not reliable.
| Blave |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I think you're in the wrong subforum. Are you talking about Pathfinder 1 or the Playtest?
Playtest: Casters don't get bonus spells from high ability scores.
PF1: A 4th level wizard with a +3 Int modifier would have four 1st level spells and three 2nd level spells. Add one spell per level if you're a specialist as per the arcane school class ability.
Volcanic Storm is a 4th level slot and definitely NOT a cantrip. Don't rely on some app without double checking the rules on a more reliable source.
| Samaelstrom |
I think you're in the wrong subforum. Are you talking about Pathfinder 1 or the Playtest?
Playtest: Casters don't get bonus spells from high ability scores.
PF1: A 4th level wizard with a +3 Int modifier would have four 1st level spells and three 2nd level spells. Add one spell per level if you're a specialist as per the arcane school class ability.
Volcanic Storm is a 4th level slot and definitely NOT a cantrip. Don't rely on some app without double checking the rules on a more reliable source.
Whoops, yep, wrong place! We are just playing through Rise of the Runelords. One last thing, and this is what has been bugging me the most - are you saying this hypothetical wizard could potentially have 4 different 1st level spells that he can use 4 times each or he simply can cast 4 1st level spells, all of them once if he so chooses or 1 in particular 4 times?
| Barnabas Eckleworth III |
One last thing, and this is what has been bugging me the most - are you saying this hypothetical wizard could potentially have 4 different 1st level spells that he can use 4 times each or he simply can cast 4 1st level spells, all of them once if he so chooses or 1 in particular 4 times?
The first example you give is a wizard.
The second example is a sorceror.| Barnabas Eckleworth III |
Well, scratch that. I misread it.
The second example is indeed a sorcerer (a certain number of spell slots that he can use interchangably).
The first example is off. He can't use each spell four times. The wizard prepares each individual instance of a spell. So he prepares four spells and he has to use the ones he prepared. So, if he prepared magic missile twice, he can cast it twice. If he prepared it once, he can only cast it once. And so on.
| Samaelstrom |
Well, scratch that. I misread it.
The second example is indeed a sorcerer (a certain number of spell slots that he can use interchangably).
The first example is off. He can't use each spell four times. The wizard prepares each individual instance of a spell. So he prepares four spells and he has to use the ones he prepared. So, if he prepared magic missile twice, he can cast it twice. If he prepared it once, he can only cast it once. And so on.
Thank you! This really helps out as I've been trying to be fair about things. No more infinite Volcanic Storms!!!