Confused about skalds and rage powers


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So, I have two questions, both of which stem from the following text in the Advanced Class Guide:

ACG wrote:
At 3rd level and every 3 levels thereafter, a skald learns a rage power that affects the skald and any allies under the influence of his inspired rage. this cannot be a rage power that requires the creature to spend a standard action or rounds of rage to activate it.

QUESTION 1: What rage powers can a skald actually take?

Based on the quote above, I'm not sure if the bold section is simply just telling you what powers are allowed to pass on to your allies and which can't, or if it's also saying that if a rage power requires a standard action or rounds of rage to activate, not even the skald themselves can take this power for their own benefit. For example, when a skald reaches a level it can select a rage power, can a skald select renewed vigor to benefit from themselves, even though it can't be passed on to allies?

QUESTION 2: What about rage powers that require a full-round action?
In the same text above, it SPECIFICALLY mentions standard-action-activated rage powers. What about those like feast of blood (Pathfinder Player Companion: Demon Hunter's Handbook pg. 8) which require a full-round action to perform?


1. You cannot take those for yourself with that ability, you have to take ones that don't cost rage rounds or take a standard.

2. You would technically be able to take them by RAW, though some gms may rule otherwise.


The renewed vigour one is so frustrating as they specifically talk about that power later on as an example.

But theres dozens of non standard action powers to choose from. The list would be smaller to say what ones dont count.

As for 2, I wouldn't risk sneaking that in, doubt many GM would allow it.

Grand Lodge

Yeah, I do remember seeing a developer weighing in on renewed vigor as an example, saying it was a mistake. From his wording it still wasn't clear if it meant it was a mistake because it can't be passed on, or it was a mistake because the skald can't select it period. I'll go with the consensus here and say the skald can't choose those powers at all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Confused about skalds and rage powers All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.