| Gruingar de'Morcaine |
Have a few questions that have come up recently. We would like some community input on how to rules these things. Some are rules questions some are just general opinion questions, so I put it in the rules section. Might have been a mistake, but there you go.
1. Halfling riding a giant wasp. Wasp and halfling are enveloped by a leaping manta/cloaker type creature. Halfling is wearing a Ring of Feather Falling. Do any or all of them take falling damage?
2. The above creature bundle is now hit by a fireball. The wasp has evasion. All of them have the grappled condition. Do any/all of them still get a reflex save? If the wasp makes his save with evasion and leaps out of range (taking no damage), does that mean none of them took damage?
3. Alchemist and/or Investigator drinks an extract of haste. Does the whole party get haste or just the alch/inves?
4. GM wants to use the optional massive damage rule. However, we can’t remember the details of the rule. What is the save DC? Is it save when you take half of the current hp or half of the healthy max? Is it dead if fail or just unconscious and bleeding out like other damage? If the later what is the check to stabilize? How do you get them conscious again? We know it is the GM’s choice, but he/we would like community opinions.
5. The stats on a specific creature say it has reach of 10 ft (in this case it was a special giant centipede). However, it attacks with it’s whole head to bite. So it has to bring it’s head/body into contact with the PC to attack. Can the PC hold his action to swing when it lunges forward to bite him (bringing it’s head within reach)?
6. Character has the feat Familiar Bond for a cat familiar. Does he have to take the feat Improved Familiar Bond before he can take the feat Improved Familiar to get a fiendish cat? (All cats are fiends, don'tcha know.)
Thank you in advance for your assistance.
| willuwontu |
1. Clarify, I'll pass for now.
2. Being grappled does not prevent you from making reflex saves.
3. Only the person who drinks haste, gets the benefit of haste.
4.
Massive Damage (Optional Rule)
If you ever sustain a single attack that deals an amount of damage equal to half your total hit points (minimum 50 points of damage) or more and it doesn’t kill you outright, you must make a DC 15 Fortitude save. If this saving throw fails, you die regardless of your current hit points. If you take half your total hit points or more in damage from multiple attacks, no one of which dealt more than half your total hit points (minimum 50), the massive damage rule does not apply.
5. No, it still attacks from 10 ft away, even if it uses claws, bites, or other natural attacks.
6. No
| Gruingar de'Morcaine |
1. Clarify, I'll pass for now.
...
PC (halfling) on a medium sized flying mount (giant wasp).
Flying 20' up scouting around battlefield.Hidden creature attacks.
Large manta ray looking thing (we do not yet know details).
Can leap 30' up and can glide, but can not itself fly.
Leaps up and wraps itself around wasp and rider with its wings.
Wasp can't fly because it is wrapped up.
The halfling can't fly.
The ray can't glide because its wings are wrapped around the others.
Plummet.
However, the halfling is wearing a Ring of Feather Falling.
Who takes what damage?
| Cevah |
1. Halfling riding a giant wasp. Wasp and halfling are enveloped by a leaping manta/cloaker type creature. Halfling is wearing a Ring of Feather Falling. Do any or all of them take falling damage?
2. The above creature bundle is now hit by a fireball. The wasp has evasion. All of them have the grappled condition. Do any/all of them still get a reflex save? If the wasp makes his save with evasion and leaps out of range (taking no damage), does that mean none of them took damage?
The wasp and PC may have cover from the fireball by being enveloped. Depends on the wording of the ability. Cover helps out with the reflex save, and total cover would give immunity to that fireball a better bonus. If the ability is the Engulf ability, you are within the creature and thus the fireball has no line-of-effect to you and does no damage to you.
/cevah