| Zendar |
New rage :
You begin raging. You gain a number of temporary
Hit Points equal to your level plus your Constitution
modifier and enter a state of pure rage. While you are raging, you are
affected in these ways:
• Gain a +2 conditional bonus to damage rolls with melee weapons
and unarmed Strikes. The bonus is halved if your weapon or
unarmed Strike is agile. This bonus increases by 1 at level 3 and
every 4 levels thereafter.
• Take a –1 penalty to AC.
• You can’t use actions that have the concentrate trait unless they
also have the rage trait. The Seek basic action gains the rage trait
while you’re raging.
At the end of each of your turns, you must attempt a flat check to
determine whether you keep raging. The DC starts at 0 on the frst
round and goes up by 5 each following round, to a maximum of DC
20. If you fail, your rage ends immediately. (Because of the flat check
rules, you automatically succeed at the DC 0 check without rolling on
the first round.)
When your rage ends for any reason, you lose any remaining
temporary Hit Points from using the Rage action, you can’t use Rage
again for 1 round, and you’re fatigued for 1 round. You can’t voluntarily
stop raging while you’re in combat, but if you’re not in combat, you can
voluntarily end your rage by spending an action; this action has the
concentrate and rage traits.
Since the duration of fatigue states it last one round when ending and I cannot enter rage for one round relates to my questions.
Some effects last for a certain duration rather than
being resolved instantly. Once the duration has elapsed,
the effect expires and ends. The rules use the following
wording for duration's in general, though spells have
some special types detailed on page 196.
For an effect that lasts a certain number of rounds, its
remaining duration decreases by 1 at the start of each turn
of the creature that created the effect. This is a common
duration for spells or beneficial effects targeting you or
your allies. Detrimental effects often last until the end of
the target’s next turn or through a number of their turns
(such as “through the target’s next 3 turns”), which means
that their duration decreases at the end of the turn rather
than the start.
A duration might also end only when a requirement
is met or ceases to be true. These effects last while that
requirement is met or until it’s met, respectively.
Is the one round a beneficial or a determinant effect?
If beneficial the one round duration ends at the start of the turn. I can then rage and suffer no fatigue effects on my turn.
If it is a detrimental effect, I am fatigued until the end of the next turn and I cannot rage on that turn. I can however take 3 actions on my next turn suffering a -4 on AC and saves. At the end of my turn, the 1 round round duration is removed for both so the -4 AC and saves also goes away. Not much of a fatigue penalty.
I understand what was intended but is my reading of RAW correct?
-Z
| Mathmuse |
We are having the same discussion over at the thread, Barbarian Rage Fatigue Questions. My newest comment mentioned your post because you spotted a part of the rules that I missed.