Witch and Fortune hex clarification


Rules Questions


So, i was under the belief that i could rnd 1 fortune hex, rnd 2 cackle and continue the fortune rerolls as long as i cackled.
My DM pulled up the rules and it's a bit hazy.
"Effect: The witch can grant a creature within 30 feet a bit of good luck for 1 round. The target can call upon this good luck once per round, allowing him to reroll any ability check, attack roll, saving throw, or skill check, taking the better result."

so that's pretty clear. 30 feet range, reroll, take better result for 1 round. This is where it gets hazy
"At 8th level and 16th level, the duration of this hex is extended by 1 round. Once a creature has benefited from the fortune hex, it cannot benefit from it again for 24 hours."
Higher levels or cackle extend duration, but, once benefited cannot use again for 24 hours.

So, the way i'm reading it is a fortune hex can be hexed on a player, they have that round to use it, unless i'm lvl8 or above, or i'm cackling, in which case they have X amounts of rounds to keep it in the bank, but after they have used it ONCE, it's done?


That's how I'd read it. At levels 1-7 an ally gains the benefit for 1 round; 2 w/ cackle. Levels 8-15...add 1 round; levels 16+...ditto. In any case, it can only be benefited from 1/day per character.

Sovereign Court

If it was only 1 reroll per day, ever, then why would it say "once per round"?


BenS wrote:
That's how I'd read it. At levels 1-7 an ally gains the benefit for 1 round; 2 w/ cackle. Levels 8-15...add 1 round; levels 16+...ditto. In any case, it can only be benefited from 1/day per character.

This is what i thought.

Firebug wrote:
If it was only 1 reroll per day, ever, then why would it say "once per round"?

But then this line throws a spanner in the works.

DMs adamant it's a once p/day thing, i'm guessing the cackle just extends when they can use it instead of the very next round?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The "once a day" bit means that you can't put the hex on, let it expire (by not cackling) then put it on the same target again the same day, in the same way as many other hexes can't be used on the same target more than once a day.
As long as you keep the hex active by cackling, the extra dice can be used on one roll per round.

Also, at low level when it only lasts for one round, that round ends at the start of the witch's next turn before they can cackle, so if you want it last more than one round you've got to cackle on the same turn you apply the hex.

(This is how it has been run in every game I've played, home & PFS)


You can't reapply fortune hex after you hex the person one time a day.

But once it's on them, it's USED once a round until it wears out.

So in effect it's like... I don't know like a glow stick. You only get one, but it glows as long as you can keep it going. Not a perfect analogy but hope that helps.

For best results combine with Scar Hex.

Dark Archive

Andy Brown wrote:

The "once a day" bit means that you can't put the hex on, let it expire (by not cackling) then put it on the same target again the same day, in the same way as many other hexes can't be used on the same target more than once a day.

As long as you keep the hex active by cackling, the extra dice can be used on one roll per round.

Also, at low level when it only lasts for one round, that round ends at the start of the witch's next turn before they can cackle, so if you want it last more than one round you've got to cackle on the same turn you apply the hex.

(This is how it has been run in every game I've played, home & PFS)

+1


Andy Brown wrote:


Also, at low level when it only lasts for one round, that round ends at the start of the witch's next turn before they can cackle, so if you want it last more than one round you've got to cackle on the same turn you apply the hex.

This part I hadn't thought through correctly, so thanks for pointing this out.


Yup, you can cackle on the same turn as you hex your ally - Standard action for Fortune, THEN move action to Cackle.

The other option is the SOOTHSAYER HEX. This delays the effect of the hex until it would be needed, which means it will delay the expiry until the initiative count that it began on (which won't be your turn). This isn't as good as Cackle, but it will let you pre-buff your allies before battle. If you're using all/most of the hexes it affects already I think it's a pretty good pickup, but I wouldn't pick it up just for 1 hex.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch and Fortune hex clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.