How does Master Craftsman works ?


Rules Questions


Here's the rule :

Quote:
Choose one Craft or Profession skill in which you possess at least 5 ranks. You receive a +2 bonus on your chosen Craft or Profession skill. Ranks in your chosen skill count as your caster level for the purposes of qualifying for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor and Craft Wondrous Item feats. You can create magic items using these feats, substituting your ranks in the chosen skill for your total caster level. You must use the chosen skill for the check to create the item. The DC to create the item still increases for any necessary spell requirements (see the magic item creation rules in Magic Items). You cannot use this feat to create any spell-trigger or spell-activation item.

Basically, this feat allows you to craft magic weapons and armors even if you don't have any magic or if you don't have the required spells for a specific magic property.

However I can't figure how it works.

The feat says I use my skill rank as if it was my caster level, however I don't see where my caster level is used.

Under the Magic Items creation rules, it's written that the DC to craft a Magic weapon or armor or whatever is 5+ the item's caster level and 5 per required spells not known, but I don't find what is the item's caster level.

For exemple, if I want to craft a +1 Corrosive Long Sword, my DC will be 5 + 5 because I don't know the Acid Arrows required spell + the item's caster level which is 10 so the total DC is 20 but do I NEED a CL of 10 or does this only increase the DC ?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
applecat144 wrote:
Basically, this feat allows you to craft magic weapons and armors even if you don't have any magic or if you don't have the required spells for a specific magic property.

You still need the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat. Don't know if you were aware, but I got the impression you weren't.

***

applecat144 wrote:
The feat says I use my skill rank as if it was my caster level, however I don't see where my caster level is used.

You use your skill ranks to qualify for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat, which requires caster level 5.

You'll also use your ranks in the skill as your caster level for prerequisites when crafting the magic armor/weapon.

For example, you need a Caster level equal to thrice the Enhancement bonus of the magic Armor/Weapon when crafting it.

Magic Items: Magic Item Creation: Creating Magic Armor/Weapons:
Creating magic armor has a special prerequisite: The creator’s caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus of the armor. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met. Magic armor or a magic shield must have at least a 1 enhancement bonus to have any armor or shield special abilities.

***

=========

applecat144 wrote:

Under the Magic Items creation rules, it's written that the DC to craft a Magic weapon or armor or whatever is 5+ the item's caster level and 5 per required spells not known, but I don't find what is the item's caster level.

For exemple, if I want to craft a +1 Corrosive Long Sword, my DC will be 5 + 5 because I don't know the Acid Arrows required spell + the item's caster level which is 10 so the total DC is 20 but do I NEED a CL of 10 or does this only increase the DC ?

Here it is:

Magic Weapon: Caster Level for Weapons:
The caster level of a weapon with a special ability is given in the item description. For an item with only an enhancement bonus and no other abilities, the caster level is three times the enhancement bonus. If an item has both an enhancement bonus and a special ability, the higher of the two caster level requirements must be met.

***

=========

Barry the blacksmith has both the Master Craftsman and Craft Magic Arms and Armor feats. This allows Barry to craft magic armor and weaponry, substituting his ranks in the craft skill for a Caster Level when it is needed.
Barry has five ranks in his craft skill.

Barry wants to craft a (+1, Corrosive) Long Sword.

The Corrosive property has a Caster Level of 10, and requires the crafter to know the Acid Arrow spell.
A +1 weapon has a Caster Level of 3, and requires the crafter to have a Caster Level of 3.

We'll use the higher of the two Caster Levels to decide the final Caster Level of the item, which means it is Caster Level 10.

The base craft DC of the (+1, Corrosive) Long Sword is 5+CL, so 15.

Then we add +5 for every requirement that Barry doesn't fulfill, which in this case is the supply of the Acid Arrow spell.

The final craft DC is 20, and would take 8 days to finish unless Barry decides to increase the DC by 5 to double his crafting speed.

=========

The same Barry (still with 5 ranks), attempts to craft a (+2, Corrosive) Long Sword.

The Corrosive property has a Caster Level of 10, and requires the crafter to know the Acid Arrow spell.
A +2 weapon has a Caster Level of 6, and requires the crafter to have a Caster Level of 6.

The higher of the two Caster Levels is still 10, which means the base craft DC is 15.

Then we add +5 for every requirement Barry doesn't fulfill, which is both Acid Arrow and having a caster level of 6.

So the (+2, Corrosive) Long Sword has the same Caster Level as a (+1, Corrosive) Long Sword, but Barry would need to beat a craft DC of 25.

=========

The craft DC for Barry to create a (+3, Corrosive) weapon is yet again 25, since there's no difference between an unfulfilled requirement of CL 6 and 9.


Quote:
How does Master Craftsman works ?

Very well, thank you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How does Master Craftsman works ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.