
SaltMiner |

Hi there,
I m playing an insinuator antipaladin and was not sure about the interaction of thefollowing rules:
-antipaladin fiendish boons says:
The second type of bond allows an antipaladin to gain the service of a fiendish servant. This functions as summon monster III, except the duration is permanent and the antipaladin can only gain the service of a single creature and that creature must either have the chaotic and evil subtypes or it must be a fiendish animal. Once selected, the choice is set, but it may be changed whenever the antipaladin gains a level. Upon reaching 7th level, and every two levels thereafter, the level of the summon monster spell increases by one, to a maximum of summon monster IX at 17th level.
-Summon monsters says:
This spell functions like summon monster I, except that you can summon one creature from the Xth-level list, 1d3 creatures of the same kind from the X-1th-level list, or 1d4+1 creatures of the same kind from a lower-level list.
-Insinuator ambitious bond modify fiendish boons and says:
Outsider Servant: This functions as the antipaladin ability, except the insinuator gains a new outsider servant each day, whose alignment must match the alignment of the outsider invoked for the day. The outsider servant functions as much as an agent for the patron invoked by the insinuator as an ally of the insinuator himself, and may turn against him if he violates his patron’s alignment or interests.
Question is: Should I be able to choose one monster of lower level monster if needed on one day or the fact that it says "1d4+1" vs "a single creature" means as I level up I MUST have the higher level monster each day when I refresh ambitious bond?