
EberronHoward |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Came across a weird rules interaction while play Sombrefell Hall. Sorcerer had a Wight in flank with a Paladin, and killed the Wight. The Wight's Final Strike triggered, as did the Paladin's Retributive Strike in response to the Wight. Now, as written, the Paladin can hit the Wight and enfeeble it, but because it's already dead when making the attack, dealing damage to the Wight won't negate the damage, since Retributive Strike can't kill what's already dead. That doesn't seem intended, just a result of wording getting in the way of intent. It also feels like more monsters will have this kind of ability, where Retributive Strike won't work or be useful as expected.
Perhaps a change to Retributive Strike's wording from:
"If Retributive Strike incapacitates or kills the triggering creature..."
to
"If the triggering creature is incapacitated or at 0 HP after hitting with Retributive Strike..."
would make it work more like people expect it to.