Spontaneous Casting Feature and Multiclassing with Other Spellcaster Classes


Rules Questions


So, question about the Spontaneous Casting class feature from the Druid and the Cleric... If I were to multiclass into another class, would I then be able to use spells from that class as fodder for my class?

For example: Level 1 Druid/Level 5 Wizard, would I be able to sacrifice a 3rd level Wizard Spell to activate the Druid's Spontaneous Casting class feature?


RAW yes you can do it.

RAI there is a strong argument that Arcane Magic shouldn't be able to power a Divine spell nor should a divine class feature modify an arcane spell into a divine spell.


Really? Fey Magic seems like an icky mix and mesh between Arcane and Divine magics. Considering the Magus gets the Nature-Bound Archetype, I think it wouldn't be too far off.

I'll check with my active DMs to see if they're okay with RAW. Because I'm thinking of one-level dipping Druid.


There are plenty of abilities that allow a bit of mixing of arcane and divine powers, such as the halcyon druid but its more of an expansion of your spell list. For you, those wizard spells are divine spells just like the rest of your spells.

I think in a large way, it has to do with when the druid and cleric classes were created. For classes introduced later like the magus or arcanist they explicitly state their own class spells have to be used to fuel class abilities that consume spells. If the cleric and druid were introduced now they would probably have similar language.


I'm pretty sure the answer is actually "NO".

Most class features are written with the assumption that they're talking about "spells gained from this class" or something similar. I'm not entirely sure where it's written, but I believe it is written somewhere (possibly in a random FAQ somewhere).


MrCharisma wrote:

I'm pretty sure the answer is actually "NO".

Most class features are written with the assumption that they're talking about "spells gained from this class" or something similar. I'm not entirely sure where it's written, but I believe it is written somewhere (possibly in a random FAQ somewhere).

The opposite, in fact:

CRB FAQ wrote:

Sorcerer: Do the bonuses granted from Bloodline Arcana apply to all of the spells cast by the sorcerer, or just those cast from the sorcerer's spell list?

The Bloodline Arcana powers apply to all of the spells cast by characters of that bloodline, not just those cast using the sorcerer's spell slots.

General rule: If a class ability modifies your spellcasting, it applies to your spells from all classes, not just spells from the class that grants the ability. (The exception is if the class ability specifically says it only applies to spells from that class.)


Oh weird, I swear I've seen almost the exact same question asked before and the answer given sas "No".

Well, without evidence I defer to those who have it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spontaneous Casting Feature and Multiclassing with Other Spellcaster Classes All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions