Is it possible to use an unarmed strike to cast a touch spell?


Playing the Game


Maybe it was a house rule but it seems like you were able to do this in PF1. What I'm wondering is possible is playing a dragon sorcerer who uses the Dragon Claw to hit AC instead of TAC to do the extra damage along with the spell. Is that possible or would it be too much in this system?


PF1 allowed it while holding a charge;

Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

PF2 omits the rule for holding the charge entirely, including delivery via unarmed strike. A spell attack is always part of a somatic casting action, not a Strike.


eggellis wrote:
Maybe it was a house rule but it seems like you were able to do this in PF1. What I'm wondering is possible is playing a dragon sorcerer who uses the Dragon Claw to hit AC instead of TAC to do the extra damage along with the spell. Is that possible or would it be too much in this system?

When I was running the first part of the playtest, I let the halfling sorcerer with Dragon Claw use it to deliver a shocking grasp to land the finishing blow on the boss monster. I had no idea if the rules still allowed it in PF2, I just decided to allow it because it seemed cool and I didn't want the player to feel like having the claws was useless.

If they do allow touch spells to be delivered with a weapon Strike, then it'll be easy to make a quasi-magus in PF2. If not, then I'm a little sad at the loss of something fun and flavorful.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Playing the Game / Is it possible to use an unarmed strike to cast a touch spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Playing the Game