Flurry of Bombs - A possible exploit


Classes


Step 1: Play an alchemist.

Step 2: Take Quick Bomber at level 1.

Step 3: Multiclass into Rogue at level 2.

Step 4: Take Quickdraw at level 4.

Now...

Use an interaction action to draw... Then throw... Two bombs.

---

Rules as written, this should work... You'll burn through bombs like tic-tacs, but it works. I recommend Paizo take a look at this.


It works as written if the DM allows it. With quickbombs you’re specifically drawing an alchemical bomb. With QuickDraw you’re using the interact action to draw a weapon and attack with it.

Since alchemical bombs are martial thrown weapons it should work out to draw two bombs and attack with them as one action, however! QuickDraw is an action that targets a single weapon with the interact action, quickbomb lets you draw +1 bomb when drawing a bomb, but nothing actually allows you to attack with the second bomb. So a DM could rule that you draw two bombs and attack with one of them, but are still left holding the other bomb.

I think that’s how it should be ruled. It’s still cool and isn’t unbalanced.


RAW actually looks a little fuzzy on this...

Quick Draw states "You draw a weapon with the interact action, then strike with the weapon you just drew"

I could see either interpretation being valid, though as a DM, I'd probably follow Shane's ruling

That said, this trick DOES allow an alchemist to draw and throw two bombs, while still being left with an action, which is pretty neat, especially in PF2's setup where you are expected to move more


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Shane's correct, and I don't think it's opinion, but RAW.

Quick Draw is a special action (not a condition on all drawn weapons) that allows for two actions: Draw one weapon (singular) & Strike with it (singular).
Quick Bomber (which does apply to all drawn bombs) lets you draw an extra bomb during the Draw portion of Quick Draw, but nothing empowers the PC to Strike w/ the second bomb during the Strike portion.

Stated another way, Quick Draw doesn't grant a Strike w/ all drawn weapons, only one Strike with the one weapon selected when taking the Quick Draw action. Just because Quick Bomber gives you an extra Draw during a Quick Draw, doesn't mean it also gives you an extra Strike.

Quick Draw makes Quick Bomber mostly useless.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Classes / Flurry of Bombs - A possible exploit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Classes
Alchemical Familiar?