Spells and objects


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


The playtest fireball says "A burst of fire explodes, dealing 6d6 fire damage; creatures in the area must attempt a Reflex save."

The playtest lightning bolt says "All creatures in the area must attempt a Reflex save to avoid taking 4d12 electricity damage."

Both spells then provide information on successes and failures and how to heighten the spells.

As written, I would rule that a fireball also damages objects in the burst area (and don't benefit from the possibility of a save). I would also rule that a lightning bolt does not damage objects in the line area.

I would prefer to rule that the lightning bolt damages objects, but the text ties "all creatures" to the "electricity damage" in a way that the fireball text does not. The fireball text makes it clear (to me) that the fire damage affects everything in the burst area, but creatures may benefit from a save.

How do you read these spells regarding this issue? Do you think that clarification is in order?

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Spells and objects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells
Clothing