Free action abilities that add actions to other abilities.


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


There are a number of abilities, such as "widen spell" or "healing hands" that take a free action to add an action to a spell. I see that the "free action" step is meant to prevent adding multiple metamagic like feats from impacting the single casting of a spell through the free action trigger limitation.

I think this is unnecessarily complicated though. As it stands the ability appears to be a free action, and uses the free action icon, but in order to use the ability you're still using an action to do so.

Either that, or I'm reading it wrong and the addition of an action to the casting is not meant to imply that an actual action must be spent in order to use it.

If the ability is meant to only add the restrictions of the additional action type, then add the restrictions of the additional action type and list the ability as a free action. If it is meant to take an action, indicate that it should take an action and require that the ability be used immediately before the casting of a spell.

Grand Lodge

I agree that this is not ideal. Came here looking to see if I was interpreting it correctly.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Free action abilities that add actions to other abilities. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells