Trick attack additional damage happen on a miss?


Rules Questions


This has probably been done before but I can’t find it anywhere. But based on what I read for trick attack that the additional damage happens regardless whether or not the attack lands. It sounds like the as long as you make the dc for trick attack against your opponent that your additional damage happens whether or not the attack lands is this true.?

Trick attack (EX)
You can trick or startle a foe and then attack when she drops her guard. As a full action, you can move up to your speed. Whether or not you moved, you can then make an attack with a melee weapon with the operative special property or with any small arm. Just before making your attack, attempt a Bluff, Intimidate, or Stealth check (or a check associated with your specialization) with a DC equal to 20 + your target’s CR. If you succeed at the check, you deal 1d4 additional damage and the target is flat-footed. This damage increases to 1d8 at 3rd level, to 3d8 at 5th level, and by an additional 1d8 every 2 levels thereafter. You can’t use this ability with a weapon that has the unwieldy special property or that requires a full action to make a single attack.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

No


What’s the reason?


It specifies the trick attempt happens as part of an attack action to add additional damage to that attack. If the attack misses than you cant do anything with that bonus damage.


Cool thank you


Regardless of anything else, it should be relatively obvious that if you miss an attack roll, you deal no damage (barring something that specifically says otherwise).

No hit, no damage.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Trick attack additional damage happen on a miss? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.