Poison Weapon (rogue ability) and Bows


Classes


it takes an action to poison a (S or P) weapon and it requires a free hand.

Bows are listed as 1+ hands, meaning that you have a free hand except when shooting

They are also listed as (P) weapons

Lastly, they have 0 reload, meaning the act of drawing an arrow isn't an action by itself.

So, my question is, can you actually use Poison weapon to poison an arrow?

RAW it seems yes, but RAI seems that the bow isn't really a (P) weapon (its arrows are), and you're holding a bow, not an arrow to poison in the first place, and etc

But, my 2nd question is, shouldn't that rectified somehow in the rules. Making you actually, even by RAI, able to actually poison your arrows before you shoot them? (seeing as the shortbow being quite symbolic rogue weapon)

edit:

to complicate it a bit more.
Quick draw is another option for rogue.

a way that works with both RAW and RAI is having the arrow on hand, poison it with Poison weapon, and then quickdrawing your bow and firing it (although only works for first attack)

But since drawing an arrow to attack, or drawing an arrow to reload, or in generally, manipulating the arrow doesn't seem to cost an acton. Isn't the RAI that if both your hands are empty you can "draw an arrow and poison it" a single action?

Also, funny RAW (but i hope not RAI) interaction, is that IF you have an empty hand, you can draw a poison and poison your weapon. But if you happen to actually have your poison on hand already, you can't do so (no "free hand"). :D

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Classes / Poison Weapon (rogue ability) and Bows All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Classes
Alchemical Familiar?