
Piccolo |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Under the description of every magic item, there is a caster level listed. I thought that this was the minimum level needed to create the item, therefore any PC's that want to recreate the item for themselves have to be of that level or greater. However, another person I am in a thread with disagrees. He says you just have to make a skill check to pull it off. There is a FAQ which addresses this, but it seems to have exceptions.
" Pearl of Power: What is the caster level required to create this item?
Though the listed Caster Level for a pearl of power is 17th, that caster level is not part of the Requirements listing for that item. Therefore, the only caster level requirement for a pearl of power is the character has to be able to cast spells of the desired level.
However, it makes sense that the minimum caster level of the pearl is the minimum caster level necessary to cast spells of that level--it would be strange for a 2nd-level pearl to be CL 1st.
For example, a 3rd-level wizard with Craft Wondrous Item can create a 1st-level pearl, with a minimum caster level of 1. He can set the caster level to whatever he wants (assuming he can meet the crafting DC), though the pearl's caster level has no effect on its powers (other than its ability to resist dispel magic). If he wants to make a 2nd-level pearl, the caster level has to be at least 3, as wizards can't cast 2nd-level spells until they reach character level 3. He can even try to make a 3rd-level pearl, though the minimum caster level is 5, and he adds +5 to the DC because he doesn't meet the "able to cast 3rd-level spells" requirement."
Who is right?

Fuzzy-Wuzzy |

The other guy.
Creating Items and Caster Level: The APG magic items chapter says (on page 282), "The creator's caster level must be as high as the item's caster level." This contradicts the Core Rulebook. Which is correct?
That line in the APG is an error. An item's caster level is not a prerequisite for item creation unless it is specifically mentioned in an item's Requirements line (for example, an amulet of natural armor).

LordKailas |

You are both right and wrong?
When it comes to magic items which are spell completion items (scrolls, potions, etc.) your caster level must equal or exceed the caster level of the item. When it comes to magic items which are not spell completion items (wondrous items), your caster level can be lower than what's listed for the item. But it does affect the skill check required to make the item.
Magic Weapons and Armor have their own formula, which requires you to be a certain level based on what the effective total bonus of the end product is.
This is confirmed by this FAQ

Piccolo |

You are both right and wrong?
When it comes to magic items which are spell completion items (scrolls, potions, etc.) your caster level must equal or exceed the caster level of the item. When it comes to magic items which are not spell completion items (wondrous items), your caster level can be lower than what's listed for the item. But it does affect the skill check required to make the item.
Magic Weapons and Armor have their own formula, which requires you to be a certain level based on what the effective total bonus of the end product is.
This is confirmed by this FAQ
Slight problem. The bit about magic arms and armor he disagreed with at the very least. He wrote:
" like all other pre-requisites other than the crafting feat itself, it can be ignored, by adding 5 to the DC to craft the item."He cited: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9qc0

merpius |
Worth mentioning (so as to avoid confusion): potions (and, unmentioned: wands and staffs) are not spell completion items. Of the normal typoes, only scrolls are always spell-completion.
Wands and staffs are both spell-trigger items. And potions are use-activated items.
However, LordKailas is correct in that all of these you must meet all of the prerequisites for; "In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting its prerequisites."

Fuzzy-Wuzzy |

LordKailas wrote:Magic Weapons and Armor have their own formula, which requires you to be a certain level based on what the effective total bonus of the end product is.
This is confirmed by this FAQ
Slight problem. The bit about magic arms and armor he disagreed with at the very least. He wrote:
" like all other pre-requisites other than the crafting feat itself, it can be ignored, by adding 5 to the DC to craft the item."
He cited: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9qc0
He is correct; they do have an extra prerequisite of a minimum caster level, but it can be skipped for the usual +5 DC as per that FAQ.

BenS |

Here's an example that might contextualize this.
Amulet of Natural Armor (UE: pg 256). It's CL is 5th. That's the baseline. It's prerequisites are: (1) Craft Wondrous Item--you literally cannot do w/out this one; (2) the spell "barkskin"--if you don't know this, add +5 for a CL check of 10; and (3) "creator's caster level must be..."--if you don't meet this one either, add another +5 for a total of 15 for your Spellcraft check. Assuming you have the funds for whichever specific version of the Amulet you're trying to craft.
The trickier question, for me at least, is whether you can "take 10" on such a Spellcraft check. If the answer is yes, you can make things (funds permitting) sooner than you might have thought.

Fuzzy-Wuzzy |

Here's an example that might contextualize this.
Amulet of Natural Armor (UE: pg 256). It's CL is 5th. That's the baseline. It's prerequisites are: (1) Craft Wondrous Item--you literally cannot do w/out this one; (2) the spell "barkskin"--if you don't know this, add +5 for a CL check of 10; and (3) "creator's caster level must be..."--if you don't meet this one either, add another +5 for a total of 15 for your Spellcraft check. Assuming you have the funds for whichever specific version of the Amulet you're trying to craft.
The trickier question, for me at least, is whether you can "take 10" on such a Spellcraft check. If the answer is yes, you can make things (funds permitting) sooner than you might have thought.
Minor correction, the base DC is CL+5 not CL. If you don't have either non-crafting-feat prereq, your total DC is 20.
Just to confirm what Meirril said, you can always Take 10 when crafting things, whether with Spellcraft or Craft(thing). There's a FAQ for Spellcraft in particular.

ConfusedPeon |
So, does this mean once you get the crafting feat, you can make ANY potent permanent magic item so long as you have the dough? Do you have to possess the spells listed in each magic item description?
Short answer: Yes.
If it has spell prerequisites you can get around them by:
-If the item isn't a potion, spell-trigger or spell completion item, you may waive the spell prerequisite by taking a +5 penalty to your craft DC.
-You don't have to cast the spell yourself. You may use a spell completion item, a spell trigger item, or have someone cast the spell for you (another party member or an NPC).

BenS |

BenS wrote:Here's an example that might contextualize this.
Amulet of Natural Armor (UE: pg 256). It's CL is 5th. That's the baseline. It's prerequisites are: (1) Craft Wondrous Item--you literally cannot do w/out this one; (2) the spell "barkskin"--if you don't know this, add +5 for a CL check of 10; and (3) "creator's caster level must be..."--if you don't meet this one either, add another +5 for a total of 15 for your Spellcraft check. Assuming you have the funds for whichever specific version of the Amulet you're trying to craft.
The trickier question, for me at least, is whether you can "take 10" on such a Spellcraft check. If the answer is yes, you can make things (funds permitting) sooner than you might have thought.
Minor correction, the base DC is CL+5 not CL. If you don't have either non-crafting-feat prereq, your total DC is 20.
Just to confirm what Meirril said, you can always Take 10 when crafting things, whether with Spellcraft or Craft(thing). There's a FAQ for Spellcraft in particular.
Thanks for the correction and Take 10 confirmation.