| VoodistMonk |
Stench, then AoO.
There would be no question if the player did not have a reach weapon.
Any living creature within the stench radius much make a save or be sickened.
The player either makes his save or doesn't, and may end up making his AoO with the sickened condition.
AoO are optional. The stench is not.
| Volkard Abendroth |
- The player attack of opportunity from the Ghast that entered his threatened squares(because reach)?
You don't get an attack of opportunity when someone enters a square you threaten.
You get an attack of opportunity when someone leaves a square you threaten (in this case, moves from 10' -> 5').
| Doppleman |
Thank you. You are definitively correct.
I understand now. The Ghast enters the threatened square not provoking an attack of opportunity and applying his stench ability. Continuying his movement, the ghast leaves the threatened square whether to get closer to the player or move in another direction. Now the player gets his attack of opportunity.
| LordKailas |
What about a Player who readied an action to attack the Ghast who comes within reach?
My thoughts is that it'd still be the stench (since the player has to be within the AoE in order to make his/her attack), but does anyone else have any input?
(Just putting it out there for the rules-buffs)
since stench abilities can be affected by wind direction. It's reasonable to consider there will be a slight delay as a monster moves toward you. So it's possible you might be able to get your attack off before having to save against the stench.
Auras on the other hand are not affected by wind. If a DM is feeling generous they might give the character a reflex save against the aura's DC. If they make the save they can attack before having to roll against the aura. Otherwise a character would need to make a save against the aura first and then make their attack (assuming the aura hasn't incapacitated them in some way).