| Sayadim |
Hello,
First i just want to say that i'm French and i have an average level in english.
Please talk to me like a kid, with the most simple words. American language is different to the English we had learn in school, unfortunately.
*** Question 1 :
We ended adventure 1 and i always don't understand the Redemption card...i search informations on this forum but i still don't understand it....
So, it's why i tell you to talk to me like a kid.
===> The traduction of "Redeem" is completely absurd in French...i don't understand
===> How the hell, can we redeem a boon??? And when we do it? I saw a location in adventure 2, that allow us to redeem when it's closed...but i didn't find another way....
*** Question 2 :
As reward for each scenarios in adventure 2, we gain a medal on Knight of Kenabres ===> this is ok for me
===> But at the end of adventure 2, we gains skill feat corresponding to all checked skills on Knights of Kenabre, it means that we earn 5 skill feats and the end of adventure 2???? Perhaps we will lose some of them later in our adventure?
It's very generous...
Thanks in advance for the answers, and sorry for bad english ;)
| Brother Tyler |
When you "Redeem" a card, you treat it as if it no longer has the Corrupted trait. On most cards that have the Corrupted trait you'll see some rule that applies "[if] this card has the Corrupted trait..." For example, click to see the Amulet of the Abyss. So when you redeem a card, that rule no longer applies since the card no longer has the Corrupted trait. All you do to identify cards that have been redeemed is check the box on the Redemption card (or some substitute if you don't want to permanently mark that card) and then keep those redeemed cards in mind as you play the game (it's easy to forget that they're redeemed).
Yes, those skill feats are very generous. You'll need them. Believe me.
| Hannibal_pjv |
Redeem aka restore, aka holify, aka fix, aka remove curse, aka make it not corrupted.
Some scenarios and some card effects say that you may redeem a card. There is no rule based situation when it happens. Like you have found out, one location do it, it can Also be a scenario reward etc.
You can only redeem a card that your Group currently have in their deck, aka They have found if in current scenario or They have got it in previous scenarios and desided to keep it.
The ”redeem” removes the text from the card that says, if this card has a corrupted trait....
So dedeeming a card is same as you would remove curse from item, so that it does not have bad effect anymore.
| Hawkmoon269 |
I think Frencios is basically the resident French guy.
You get to redeem a card only when something happens in the game to tell you to do so. As you mentioned, there is a location that tells you to redeem a card.
"Redeem" means to make un-corrupted. To take something evil and make it good.
The corrupted cards penalize you for using them. When you redeem them you remove the evil from them. You pretend that the word corrupted isn't there anymore. That means you won't be penalized for playing it anymore.
Hopefully Frencois can help you more.
| Brother Tyler |
(I have diarrhea of the fingers, so Hannibal_pjv got a response in before me, but this took awhile, so I'm posting it anyways ;) )
(Damn, and now Hawkmoon got some ninja action in there)
Try Frencois.
You redeem a card as a reward for successfully completing a scenario (and maybe some adventures, I don't recall off the top of my head).
When the scenario/adventure reward says that you may redeem a card, you simply choose one of the cards that is in a character's possession and which is on the Redemption card. All you do is check it off on the Redemption card, meaning the card is no longer treated as having the Corrupted trait.
For example, see Nocticula's Attention (AD4), which has the following reward:
"Each character may redeem a card."
So when you successfully complete Nocticula's Attention, each character in the party may choose one card in his/her deck that has the Corrupted trait (except blessings). That card is checked off on the Redemption card and is no longer treated as if it has the Corrupted trait (i.e., the penalty for having the Corrupted trait no longer applies).
You might also look at this blog entry.
Hopefully Frencois will be able to provide better clarity for you.
| Frencois |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Hello,
First i just want to say that i'm French and i have an average level in english....
OK this one is for me. I'll answer in French.
Bonjour et bienvenue sur le forum.
Donc sur tes deux points, commençons par le plus simple à savoir les 5 skills gagnés d'un coup. Et bien oui c'est exactement cela. En récompense pour avoir mené les Chevaliers de Kenabres si souvent dans des combats victorieux, le personnage est considéré gagner d'un coup +1 dans 5 skills.
Pour ce qui est de "redeem", tu peux considérer que cela veut dire "resanctifier" ou "purifier" un équipement (arme, armure ou objet typiquement) préalablement corrompu. Au cours de nombreux échanges avec Mike (le concepteur du jeu) on a bien éclairci la règle officielle. En gros, au moment ou le jeu te propose de "redeem-er" un "boon", si tu as une carte dans ta main avec le "trait" "corrupted", tu peux décider de la "purifier". Tu la coches sur la "redemption card" pour t'en souvenir et à partir de là, elle est considérée comme si le "trait" "corrupted" n'était plus présent sur la carte pour tout le reste de l'Adventure Path.
Note que si la carte existe en plusieurs exemplaires (exemple "Corroded Helm"), à partir du moment à tu la "purifies", tu purifies en fait TOUS les exemplaires du jeu.
Nota aussi que les Blessings qui ont le "trait" "corrupted" ne sont pas purifiables (et plus généralement si la carte que tu as en main a le "trait" "corrupted" mais qu'elle n'est pas listée dans la "redemption card", tu ne peux pas la "purifier").
En gros, tu peux sanctifier/purifier une armure maudite/corrompue par un prêtre d'Asmodeus, mais ti ne pas peux pas purifier Asmodeus lui-même ou ses propres bénédictions - ça se saurait sinon :-)).
J'espère que cela clarifie.
Have a great game.
| elcoderdude |
Thanks for fielding this one, Frencois.
After using Google Translate to read your post, I am wondering about one point: Google Translate indicates you say you can redeem a card you have "in your hand". But as the WotR FAQ indicates, you can redeem any card you have in your possession (your deck, your hand, your buried/displayed/discarded cards). Did your French reply actually say as much?
| Frencois |
Good point, my mistake. So back to the French.
Bon correction j'ai commis une erreur : au moment où le jeu te permets de "purifier" une carte, tu peux choisir une carte que tu possèdes dans ton jeu (pas uniquement dans ta main). c'est en particulier important si c'est une récompense pour un scénario réussi (à un moment où tu n'as plus vraiment de "main". C'est donc une carte qui est soit dans ta pioche (deck), ta main (hand), ta défausse (discard), ton cimetière (buried cards) ou posée (displayed) sur la table par toi.
Désolé j'ai voulu bien faire et répondu trop vite.