Sorcerer questions


Rules Questions


Taking as an example a Sorcerer (Crossblooded archetype; Celestial & Arcane bloodlines) 1/Arcanist 5:
1. Does the Bloodline Development exploit apply to one Bloodline, both, or need to be taken twice to apply?
2. Do the Bloodline bonus spells (like, say flame strike) count as spells on my class list for using items (prior to acquiring them as bonus spells, that is)?
3. Do PrCs advance Bloodline bonus spells along with spellcasting? I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this one, but most of the threads I've found on it turn into flame wars after about 3 posts, & I haven't found an official answer. (I've never found the Core FAQ, it doesn't seem to show up when I search. It would be great if it were easier to find.)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Bloodline development explicitly states that it can only be applied to an ordinary bloodline i.e one unmodified by archetypes. So you couldn't choose your bloodline. Note for other purposes, crossblooded is a single bloodline that mixes two other bloodlines.

I don't see anywhere where it states that the bloodline spells become part of your class list. You gain the ability to cast them from your bloodline, not as a function of your class.

Whether a PrC advances the bloodline bonus spells is determine on a case by case basis. For example, Dragon Disciple's Blood of the Dragon states that:

"This ability does not grant bonus spells to a sorcerer unless he possesses spell slots of an appropriate level. Such bonus spells are automatically granted if the sorcerer gains spell slots of the spell’s level."


I agree with Agodeshaft, crossblooded should be treated as a single bloodline on its own, created by the archetype, and therefore not compatible with theBloodline Development exploit.

However, spells granted by the bloodline are added to the sorcerer spell list. From the CRB FAQ:

FAQ wrote:

New Spells Known: If I gain the ability to add a spell that is not on my spell list to my list of spells known, without adding it to my spell list, can I cast it?

No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.

Dark Archive

Bloodline development

Spoiler:
The arcanist selects one sorcerer bloodline upon taking this exploit. The arcanist gains that bloodline’s 1st-level bloodline power as though she were a 1st-level sorcerer. The arcanist must select an ordinary bloodline with this ability, not one altered by an archetype. As a swift action, the arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to bolster her latent nature, allowing her to treat her arcanist level as her sorcerer level for the purpose of using this ability, which lasts for a number of rounds equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1). She does not gain any other abilities when using this exploit in this way, such as bloodline arcana or those bloodline powers gained at 3rd level or higher. If this ability is used to gain an arcane bond and a bonded item is selected, the arcanist can only use that item to cast spells of a level equal to the level of spell that could be cast by her equivalent sorcerer level (limiting her to 1st level spells unless she spends a point from her arcane reservoir). If the arcanist already has a bloodline (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted her access to the bloodline when determining the powers and abilities of her bloodline.

1) You could select "unmodified" Celestial or Arcane, and it would apply to that ONE only. And by RAW I'd say it would be level 5 (arcanist level) and not 6 (arcanist plus modified bloodline from sorcerer). But a nice GM might allow you to stack it. You, in theory could also take a THIRD one, though this may be limited by other restrictions.

2) Yes as Adjoint pointed out, you do get them added to your spell list FOR THE CLASS THAT HAS THEM (in this case Arcanist, not sorcerer).

3) PrCs wouldn't advance this ability unless it specifically says in the PcC that it affects other class abilities, as this is not "spells" (which are typically all that is progressed). This is an ability that allows the casting of spells as SLAs. Let the flaming begin!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sorcerer questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions