
Iryani Calahan |
If a character has two weapons and gets Dueling on both, do the bonuses stack? I don’t see anything saying that it doesn’t.
For reference:
Dueling: This ability can only be placed on a melee weapon. A dueling weapon (which must be a weapon that can be used with the Weapon Finesse feat) gives the wielder a +4 enhancement bonus on initiative checks, provided the weapon is drawn and in hand when the Initiative check is made. It provides a +2 bonus on disarm checks and feint checks, a +2 bonus to CMD to resist disarm attempts, and a +2 to the DC to perform a feint against the wielder.

Kiesman |
As a DM, I would allow the +2 to resist feint and +2 to DC to feint would both stack, as it seems to be an untyped bonus and Feinting does not explicitly call out being a single-hand action.
As merpius said, disarm is for a specific hand/weapon, so it would not stack, and the initiative bonus is an Enhancement bonus so it would not.
RAW, this would seem to be supported.

merpius |
Ah, I had missed the +2 on performing feint; yeah, I think that woudl stack RAW, and it makes sense if you think about it; having 2 weapons (especially 2 that, for whatever reason, are especially distracting) would tend to make you even more effective at tricking your opponent.
If I were GMing, I'd be hesistant to allow too much stacking in that regard, but I think 2 weapons doing it probably wouldn't break anything.

Iryani Calahan |
Thanks. I was trying to be generous to the player and let them have some stacking, but I was really hesitant about allowing a +8 for initiative (when the character already has something like +9 from Dex and other items), but +4 on a couple combat maneuvers seemed okay.
I wasn't able to find in the rules about Enhancement bonuses not stacking, so thanks for that, as well.

Dave Justus |

I am pretty sure that the dueling enchantment would count as the same source even if it was on two different weapons (just like a spell would count as the same source even if it was cast by two different characters.)
It would not stack.
However, it does sort of 'stack' with a weapon that isn't a dueling weapon. Lets say you have a +1 dueling dagger in one hand and a +3 rapier in the other. You can make a disarm using your rapier (with all the usual bonuses, including the +3 enhancement from the weapon) and you also get the generic +2 that the dueling dagger gives to ALL disarm attempts the character performs.

LordKailas |

I am pretty sure that the dueling enchantment would count as the same source even if it was on two different weapons (just like a spell would count as the same source even if it was cast by two different characters.)
It would not stack.
However, it does sort of 'stack' with a weapon that isn't a dueling weapon. Lets say you have a +1 dueling dagger in one hand and a +3 rapier in the other. You can make a disarm using your rapier (with all the usual bonuses, including the +3 enhancement from the weapon) and you also get the generic +2 that the dueling dagger gives to ALL disarm attempts the character performs.
I agree that they wouldn't stack. The RAW seems to give you untyped bonuses so long as the weapon is on your person. The RAI seems to be that the bonuses are all enhancement bonuses, that only apply when you have the weapon drawn.
As written you could have any number of dueling swords on your person and you would get a +2 to feint and disarm attempts per weapon on you, provided they've all been "activated". So, I could have 5 of them on my back and then use a completely different weapon to perform a disarm attempt at +10.