Undead and Rage


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"An undead creature with the ability to enter a rage gains the morale bonuses from rage despite being immune to morale effects. The bonus to Constitution from the rage applies to an undead creature’s Charisma instead."

This is quote from "Undead Barbarian" special ability. Question is if its just ruling listed as ability (as in to remind how things work) or despite its wording it only applies to creature with that ability?


My group ruled that since it's only found on that one creature, it only applies to that creature. Not an official ruling, of course, but that was our conclusion. You can still have undead barbarians, though, since the Unchained Barbarian gets mostly untyped bonuses.


Kristal Moonhand wrote:
My group ruled that since it's only found on that one creature, it only applies to that creature. Not an official ruling, of course, but that was our conclusion. You can still have undead barbarians, though, since the Unchained Barbarian gets mostly untyped bonuses.

True about unchained barbarian, but that's kind of a weird unchained class if you ask me. I had a conversation about it that went like this:

Me: I wanna make an unchained barbarian. The untyped bonus to damage makes them better for Dex/TWF builds.

DM: dex builds. So you get SO ANGRY that you become more graceful? How does that make sense?

Me: Um... That's a good point. But with the way rage bonuses work now the math has been streamlined and simplified.

DM: if you can't figure out how to up your damage, to hit math and HP in rage you shouldn't be playing D&D.

EDIT:
I also don't get why Paizo "fixed" the "problem" of sudden barbarian death syndrome, probably the most heroic and manly aspect of any class.


Issue is with bloodrager ^^'


Sudden barbarian death syndrome has been responsible for more deaths in my group than actual attacks. It's garbage and I'm glad they fixed it. Also, becoming more dexterous in a rage makes total sense, look at Urban Barb.


Nekomimi^w^ wrote:

"An undead creature with the ability to enter a rage gains the morale bonuses from rage despite being immune to morale effects. The bonus to Constitution from the rage applies to an undead creature’s Charisma instead."

This is quote from "Undead Barbarian" special ability. Question is if its just ruling listed as ability (as in to remind how things work) or despite its wording it only applies to creature with that ability?

Where is this special ability published?

Edit: Nevermind, found it--Monster Codex, Vampire Savage. It's only for that creature, despite the poor wording attempting to sneak in a global rules change.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There is a blurb elsewhere that replaces Con references with Cha for Undead when under beneficial effects, though Rage was not the example. It may be in the Bestiary, but I could be wrong.

The rage blurb in the other book is just clarifying the use of the power.


I recall an FAQ that said that Undead Barbarians replace con with cha and that these effects work on them despite them normally being morale bonuses.


I'd love to see it. So far that one monster is the only one I've seen so far. Barring a general rule, I'm sticking with the 2015 FAQ stating that undead are immune.


I checked through my previous posts, and I mentioned something about Bestiary 3 having a statement about undead and rage. So not an FAQ. Unfortunately, that's still a lot of material to try to look through.


Interesting! I'll check with my GM; I believe he has B3. It definitely makes flavor sense that some particularly vicious intelligent undead ought to be able to rage.


Nothing I'm seeing on Rage but still thumbing


Intelligent undead can rage and get the rage effects and the con bonus goes to cha instead.


doomman47 wrote:
Intelligent undead can rage and get the rage effects and the con bonus goes to cha instead.

That's exactly the rule we're looking for in the text. : )


blahpers wrote:
doomman47 wrote:
Intelligent undead can rage and get the rage effects and the con bonus goes to cha instead.
That's exactly the rule we're looking for in the text. : )

It's in one of the bestiaries can't remember which one.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Undead and Rage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions