Do I have to be in contact with my familiar to deliver a touch spell?


Rules Questions


This is a really basic question, but I want to be extra sure I got this right.

Say I'm a Wizard, and for my Arcane Bond I chose a familiar. I reach Level 3 and thus my familiar gains "Deliver Touch Spells" as per the Familiar Abilities table, so far so standard.

IN ORDER FOR MY FAMILIAR TO DELIVER A TOUCH SPELL, DO I:

A) Have to be within touching distance of it, basically giving me "reach"?

B) "Charge" my familiar with the touch spell, and the next time it touches something/someone, it'll cast the spell and lose its charge, assuming I don't cast another spell, which will prematurely discharge the spell I charged my familiar with?

C) Simply have to be within "communication" range of it (I think I saw 100 feet mentioned somewhere?), and then when I cast a touch spell, I can "remote-touch" a creature that my familiar is in touching-range of?

I'm probably over-thinking this, but I would really like a definitive answer.
Thanks in advance!!


B. If you are in contact at the time of casting, the familiar can hold the charge and deliver the spell later.

Liberty's Edge

PRD wrote:

Empathic Link (Su): The master has an empathic link with his familiar to a 1 mile distance. The master can communicate empathically with the familiar, but cannot see through its eyes. Because of the link's limited nature, only general emotions can be shared. The master has the same connection to an item or place that his familiar does.

Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the "toucher." The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.

The Empathic Link ability give you only the ability of communicating within 1 mile.

Deliver Touch Spells require you to be in contact with the familiar. "In contact" can mean physical contact of to be able to communicate in some way, but "in some way" would include written letters, crystal balls used at a distance of thousand of kilometers and any other way to communicate, so the "physical contact" version is the one meant to be the meaning of the term for Deliver Touch Spells.


Thank you both very much!


The previous posters have it and it is as the class ability Deliver Touch Spells reads.
Some touch spells have multiple touches which means no spell casting until the familiar is out of 'touches'.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do I have to be in contact with my familiar to deliver a touch spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions