When does Power Attack check its conditions to add bonus damage?


Rules Questions


Power Attack's bonus damage only applies to effects that deal hit point damage.

I attack a monster that has DR 5. I deal 5 damage.

When is the Power Attack damage applied?

Is the damage applied when damage is calculated?

My attack does 5 + 2 damage, I deal 7 damage and 2 gets through DR.

or

My attack does 5 damage, gets reduced by 5 to zero, and then I do not get Power Attack bonus and deal zero damage to the monster.

Thoughts?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

The first. You total your damage with all applicable modifications. Then you apply all the defender's damage reducing effects.


The first one. You swing your weapon with power attack, you tell your GM the total of the damage that's coming towards the monster, the GM takes off the DR from the total.

I don't think anyone would argue that it's supposed to be the second one.


The first. In an attack (unless explicitly told to do otherwise - and I can't off the top of my head recall any instance of this) all damage of a given type is added together. Then dr/resistances are applied to reduce the damage.

E.g, PA with sneak attack is weapon dice + PA bonus + sneak attack dice. From that total then subtract DR.

Sneak attack with a shocking grasp spell is shocking grasp + sneak attack (sneak attack damage type matches the basic damage type of the attack). Then from that total subtract electrical resistance.

With a magus using using spellstrike to use his weapon to deliver a shocking grasp: Damage is weapon damage minus DR. Then additionally shocking grasp damage minus electrical resistance. Even if weapon damage is completely negated by DR, the shocking grasp damage still goes through, and vice versa - or maybe both are negated if the creature has enough DR and resistance.


When it says "Power Attack's bonus damage only applies to effects that deal hit point damage" it means it won't work on ability drain damage etc.

Let's say a Magus uses SPELLSTRIKE to deliver CHILL TOUCH and uses power attack on the attack. Chill Touch deals Strength Damage, which would NOT be affected by Power Attack, but the Magus' weapon attack deals HP damage which would be affected by Power Attack.

That's the reason that sentence was put in.


Power attack is applied when you decide to make the first attack roll of your turn, before damage is calculated or applied.


Now however based on your arguements in the other thread what about a target with Ablative Barrier up? I'm attempting to deal lethal damage do I add power attack or not? Keep in mind that if I don't deal at least 6 damage then I deal no lethal damage.


Talonhawke wrote:
Now however based on your arguements in the other thread what about a target with Ablative Barrier up? I'm attempting to deal lethal damage do I add power attack or not? Keep in mind that if I don't deal at least 6 damage then I deal no lethal damage.

When dealing lethal damage, power attack bonus damage applies before applying the effects of DR, ablative barrier, shield other or any other damage reducing effect.

The important part is whether the effect is dealing lethal or nonlethal damage, not what happens to that damage after the fact.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Gallant Armor wrote:


When dealing lethal damage, power attack bonus damage applies before applying the effects of DR, ablative barrier, shield other or any other damage reducing effect.

The important part is whether the effect is dealing lethal or nonlethal damage, not what happens to that damage after the fact.

Fairly sure this is counter to what you where arguing last week. Is this an oversight, intentional stance change, or an error in my recollection?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

toastedamphibian -- Gallant Armor changed his opinion to what he says here.
From another thread discussing lethal/nonlethal:

Gallant Armor wrote:
FYI, I did have the opinion previously, but I have been persuaded by the logic of others that since all of the damage dealt by a nonlethal attack is nonlethal even in the case of overflow damage, Power Attack would never work with nonlethal damage. If you are dealing lethal damage, Power Attack would be added before any other effect to diminish or alter damage.

(original post)


I was asking to make sure there weren't other common interpretations of Power Attack, where final results were used to determine whether or not Power Attack bonuses should be added, instead of the effect of the attack itself at the time damage is rolled.


Warped Savant wrote:

toastedamphibian -- Gallant Armor changed his opinion to what he says here.

From another thread discussing lethal/nonlethal:
Gallant Armor wrote:
FYI, I did have the opinion previously, but I have been persuaded by the logic of others that since all of the damage dealt by a nonlethal attack is nonlethal even in the case of overflow damage, Power Attack would never work with nonlethal damage. If you are dealing lethal damage, Power Attack would be added before any other effect to diminish or alter damage.
(original post)

Thanks. Really did not want to dig through that pile again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When does Power Attack check its conditions to add bonus damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions