Arrow Champion Wording Correct?


Rules Questions


Hello all,

So I got myself a Ultimate Wilderness and I was excited to see a class with built in switch hitter mechanics, but I'm a bit confused by the text.

Swift Switch wrote:

At 3rd level, while the arrow champion has at least 1 panache point, she can sheathe or draw an unhidden light or one-handed piercing melee weapon or a bow as a swift action without provoking attacks of opportunity. If the arrow champion spends 1 panache point, she can perform either action as an immediate action. In addition, if she has the Quick Draw feat and one of her hands is free, she can sheathe a weapon and draw an unhidden weapon as part of the same swift action, provided that one of the weapons is a bow and the other is a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon. If she spends 1 panache point, she can perform the switch as an immediate action.

This deed replaces swashbuckler’s initiative.

So, if I have a bow in my hands and a sheathed sword on my waist, I can put away the bow as a swift action, and draw the sword as a move action.

If I have quick draw, I can can do both of those as the same swift action.

Yet, if I have quick draw I can take out the sword as a free action anyways, which seems to make the ability redundant.

Am I reading that right? Should you be able to do both as a free action?

Grand Lodge

It gives you the ability to sheathe a weapon (normally a move action) as part of the same swift action you use to draw a weapon with quickdraw.


You are correct that spending a swift action to put away a bow and get then draw a sword isn't much of an addition since drawing a sword with quick draw is normally free. The 'synergy' of doing both on a swift action is actually just the two things separate.

However, where you get the real bonus for having both is the immediate action switch. Normally, you can't take a free action when it isn't your turn, so you can't put away your bow (as an immeditate with panache) and draw your sword (as a free from quickdraw) if they hadn't added in the combined 'do both as a single swift if you have quickdraw' wording.


I hadn't thought about the out-of-turn aspect of that ability. Nice.


Otherwise you would be dropping the weapon as a free action, leaving it open to be lost, kicked, sundered*, picked up and used against you. *while Sundering provokes an attack of opportunity from the holder, I am not sure that would apply to a dropped weapon...


Interesting wording but I see the use of it.

Thank you!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arrow Champion Wording Correct? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.