Touch Spells, Unarmed Strike, and a Two-Handed Weapon; Oh My!


Rules Questions


CRB wrote:
A monk’s attacks may be with fist, elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk may make unarmed strikes with his hands full.

Handy guide about touch spells

When you cast a touch spell, can you hold the charge anywhere you can attack with, or only in your hands?

For example, a Monk/Bloodrager casts frostbite but is unable to connect with the free touch attack. Can she hold the charge in her knees, allowing her to wield (and thus threaten with) her pole-arm without discharging the spell, and use her knees for subsequent attacks with the spell?


Touch Spells In Combat - Holding The Charge wrote:
If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.

There's no mention about where you touch (or get touched) and in fact it took a FAQ to specify that glove-type weapons don't discharge. So no, pretty sure you can't use Monk unarmed strikes to try to hold a charge and still wield a two-hander.


The problem I see with this is that you would have to be naked and flying to avoid accidental discharge on your clothes or into the ground.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch Spells, Unarmed Strike, and a Two-Handed Weapon; Oh My! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions