
Jeraa |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

Atalius wrote:
Good evening Paizonians, and good morning to others. I was wondering if I could use a 5th level spell slot to memorize a 4th level spell instead?
Yes, but it is still treated in all ways as a 4th level spell unless you apply the Heighten Spell metamagic feat.
Quote:
Spell Slots: The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels.

![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Semantics. Prepare and Memorize ("Mem") are the same thing. I believe somewhere down the line, the Wizard began to have the same nomenclature as the Cleric and "Prepares" spells rather than "Memorize" them as he did in previous editions.