Spell slots


Rules Questions


Good evening Paizonians, and good morning to others. I was wondering if I could use a 5th level spell slot to memorize a 4th level spell instead?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
Good evening Paizonians, and good morning to others. I was wondering if I could use a 5th level spell slot to memorize a 4th level spell instead?

Yes, but it is still treated in all ways as a 4th level spell unless you apply the Heighten Spell metamagic feat.

Quote:
Spell Slots: The various character class tables show how many spells of each level a character can cast per day. These openings for daily spells are called spell slots. A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell. A spellcaster who lacks a high enough ability score to cast spells that would otherwise be his due still gets the slots but must fill them with spells of lower levels.


You can't memorize lower level spell in a higher level slots but you can prepare the spell in higher level slot. You don't memorize spells in Pathfinder.

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Semantics. Prepare and Memorize ("Mem") are the same thing. I believe somewhere down the line, the Wizard began to have the same nomenclature as the Cleric and "Prepares" spells rather than "Memorize" them as he did in previous editions.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell slots All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions