| NotEspi |
Hi folks. We had an issue yesterday in one of our PbP games, wherein the antagonist has an illusion set up in the location of the encounter to buff. What we also have in the group is a pacifist character whose player made a decision to never inflict direct damage on anyone. With this in mind, the character casted a Charm Person spell on the illusion. Naturally, this did not do anything, but - an interesting question popped up afterwards.
Since it is an invalid target for the spell (Charm person target is specified as a one humanoid creature), can the spell even be used/expended in this way?
As per the CRB text on page 208, I ruled that the spell slot was expended for that day and the spell is wasted:
Spell Failure
If you ever try to cast a spell in conditions where the characteristics of the spell cannot be made to conform, the casting fails and the spell is wasted.
I checked for an official ruling on enchantment spells and/or abilities on illusion effects, but was not able to find anything.
Character in question is a spontaneous caster (sorcerer), so keeping the spell slot would be useful, but can they?
TL;DR: Spontaneous caster casts an enchantment spell on an illusion of a creature. Is the spell slot used up for the day?
Discuss.
PS: This is in a PFS game. In any other case, it would be a non-issue and a house ruling would have been made. Unfortunately, I can't do that in this case.
| Pizza Lord |
Yes, the common example is usually trying to cast charm person on a dog. You can cast the spell, it just wouldn't do anything. The spell is still used. Similarly, maybe you cast charm person on a doppleganger (because it looks like a human or something); as a monstrous humanoid, it would not affect it.
One more example would be magic missile. You can cast it a door, it just wouldn't do anything. The missiles would hit the door and not affect it at all. Yes, the target line says creatures:
Targets up to five creatures, no two of which can be more than 15 ft. apart
but that doesn't stop you from casting it. Otherwise, if you couldn't cast it at an object, they wouldn't need the line:
Objects are not damaged by the spell.
Since the spell doesn't miss, there really isn't any reason to have this (Other than the rare case of an invisible wall between you and the target I suppose.) Why would you cast it at a door? Maybe you thought it was a mimic or something.
Either way, in your case, the spell is used. It fails and the player doesn't know why (or even that it failed); unlike when the target makes its save against a targeted spell, since the save never happened. For all they know, it could be an invalid target, it could have SR, it could be standing in a globe of invulnerability or a protection spell, etc. (Out-of-character, he may know you didn't ask for a Spell Resistance roll, of course, but that's OOC.) In-character, as far as he knows the spell worked until he observes something that tells him it doesn't, ie. he tries to have the illusion do something and it (most likely) doesn't react in a way a charmed creature would (unless the bad guy was aware of what was attempted and was able to control the illusion just to mess with him).
| Melkiador |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The rule in question:
Spell Failure
If you ever try to cast a spell in conditions where the characteristics of the spell cannot be made to conform, the casting fails and the spell is wasted.Spells also fail if your concentration is broken and might fail if you're wearing armor while casting a spell with somatic components.