Psychic Casters and Underwater Casting


Rules Questions


Hello Rules!

Do psychic casters suffer from having to make concentration checks underwater when trying to cast spells?

Quote:


Casting spells while submerged can be difficult for those who cannot breathe underwater. A creature that cannot breathe water must make a concentration check (DC 15 + spell level) to cast a spell underwater (this is in addition to the caster level check to successfully cast a fire spell underwater). Creatures that can breathe water are unaffected and can cast spells normally. Some spells might function differently underwater, subject to GM discretion.

They don't have to wave their arms around, nor do they need to open their mouths to cast, so is this still an issue? What about above the water but not submerged?

Shadow Lodge

You still have to worry about drowning, which is a huge concern. Also, standard actions take away from the rounds you can hold your breath, regardless of what those actions actually are.

Basically when you don't have to concentrate on holding your breath spellcasting is a lot easier.


1. The requirement to make concentration checks doesn't care about what components a spell requires. A silent power word blind still requires a concentration check. Psychic spells are no different.

2. A character who is not submerged is not submerged, so the quoted text doesn't apply.


Thanks!

Guess I'll be looking at that Underwater Orb.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Psychic Casters and Underwater Casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions