Magus and Read Magic


Rules Questions


"A magus must study his spellbook each day to prepare his spells. He cannot prepare any spell not recorded in his spellbook except for read magic, which all magi can prepare from memory."

Is this saying that magi get read magic in addition to their normal spells per day? It is a cantrip so would automatically be in a magus' spellbook, so it sounds as if this is something over and above normal spell preparation. Yet it is still referred to as being prepared.


A magus does not automatically prepare Read Magic every day, but can choose to do so without his spellbook.


What he said.

That rule is saying that read magic is the only spell the magi can prepare from memory, everything else requires a spell book for him to prepare.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus and Read Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions