Reach weapon and natural reach on enlarged creature.


Rules Questions


So let's start by defining what reach weapon are.

d20pfsrd wrote:
Reach Weapons: A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren’t adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder’s natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away."

From the srd.

So it's pretty simple: you double your reach if you become larger.
But what happens if you have more than 5 ft. as natural reach when you are medium?

So let's just say that our reach character will be a Bloodrager.
A Bloodrager crossblooded with these two bloodline: Black Blood and the Aberrant.
Both of these bloodline at level 4 have the following power:

d20pfsrd wrote:
At 4th level, the black blood pumping within you twists and elongates your limbs. Your reach increases by 5 feet.

So at level 4 our Bloodrager Crossblooded could get additional 5 natural reach, and at level 8 another 5 natural reach.

So we are sitting here, with 15 ft reach as medium creature, so let's start with the question number 1:
1) Considering that you have 15 ft of reach, you are still medium, a reach weapon such as the lucerne would do? You would be able to hit by 10 to 20 ft. but not at 5 ft.? Always considering that "reach weapons double your reach".

But let's go deeper. A bloodrager could cast the Long Arm that increase the lenght of his arm so he may get additional reach of 5 ft. getting up to 20 ft. as natural reach by still being medium.
So the answer to this question is still tied to the previous one, so let's say it's 1.a
1.a) Having the reach of 20 ft. and still medium, with a reach weapon (of a medium size of course) would I be able to attack up to 25 ft or more? And I won't be able to attack only at 5 ft.?

Let's go crazy now. The bloodrager cast on himself Enlarge Person gaining additional natural reach of 5 ft. because He will be of a large size.
So let's make few math:
10 ft. (Large creature) + 5 ft. (Black Blood Bloodline) + 5 ft. (Aberrant Bloodline) + 5 ft. (Long Arms)
For a total of 25 ft. of reach.

If we consider that becoming larger our Lucerne will grow in size becoming larger we could attack up to what reach?
Reach weapons

d20pfsrd wrote:
Most reach weapons double the wielder’s natural reach

. So since we have natural reach of 25 ft. should we be able to attack up to 50 ft.?

But also I have some doubts, all these bonus that we are getting (long arms, the bloodline powers) count as natural reach or not? So two additional questions:

2.a) What would be the natural reach of our bloodrager with all the buffs (longs arms, enlarge person) and the two bloodline powers?

2.b) Up to what reach would be able to attack with a lucerne? Always considering that the weapon is large, the bloodrager is large, and we have all the previous buffs.


I would assume, by the way it sounds by what you wrote, that that all adds up. Now, certain GMs would definitely house-rule an opposing ruling. I'd accept it though. It sounds interesting... and a little scary. Sounds like the party member that covers everyone else's escape... or the big bad guy blocking a gate that everyone has to get through in a limited amount of time.


http://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/combat/space-reach-threatened-area-te mplates/

This shows normal size increases, but I'd say you double your normal reach (10ft for a medium) to 20ft then get to add in all the reach bonuses.

You aren't wielding a Colossal weapon as a Colossal creature. You are wielding a Large Weapon for a Large Creature with lots of bonuses. Your normal reach would be 25ft and your reach weapon would be 35ft. Which is still stupidly high.

You also get the bonus that normally a reach weapon for a Colossal creature (which would be 30 not 25 but whatever) wouldn't threaten the 30ft closest to himself.


There are two supernatural effects with the same name giving you the same bonus, from the same class. That doesn't sound like a problem to anyone?


toastedamphibian wrote:
There are two supernatural effects with the same name giving you the same bonus, from the same class. That doesn't sound like a problem to anyone?

It would is a bothered looking at it. Not sure about "same bonus", but it is an untyped bonus to reach, which mean it could technically stack.

I'm having a hard time keeping it together with the idea of arms that are over 15ft long on a normal human body.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

FAQ. Double reach then add static and conditional increases.


FAQ finder wrote:
FAQ. Double reach then add static and conditional increases.

So for someone Looking for Answer:

Plonix wrote:
1) Considering that you have 15 ft of reach, you are still medium, a reach weapon such as the lucerne would do? You would be able to hit by 10 to 20 ft. but not at 5 ft.? Always considering that "reach weapons double your reach".

You wouldn't be able to hit at 5 ft. but you could hit from 10 ft. to 20 ft.

Plonix wrote:
1.a) Having the reach of 20 ft. and still medium, with a reach weapon (of a medium size of course) would I be able to attack up to 25 ft or more? And I won't be able to attack only at 5 ft.?

In this case you would be able to hit up to 25 ft. but you couldn't hit up to 5 ft.

Plonix wrote:
2.a) What would be the natural reach of our bloodrager with all the buffs (longs arms, enlarge person) and the two bloodline powers?

If we want to define "natural reach" as the reach you get without considering bloodline power and spell like long arm the natural buff of our bloodrager would be 10 ft.

Plonix wrote:
2.b) Up to what reach would be able to attack with a lucerne? Always considering that the weapon is large, the bloodrager is large, and we have all the previous buffs.

In this case the bloodrager wouldn't be able to attack at the "natural reach" of a large creature, so at 5 ft. and 10 ft. but he would be able to attack from 15 ft. up to 35 ft.

Thanks anyone for the answer.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach weapon and natural reach on enlarged creature. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions