| Lemartes |
Does divine grace and order of the Star calling stack for saving throws???
I read the FAQ, well a posted FAQ in a thread not sure if it's up to date. I can't seem to find the overall FAQ! Anyways, I'm not too sure about this. :(
Divine Grace (Su)
At 2nd level, a paladin gains a bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all Saving Throws.
Calling (Ex)
At 2nd level, the cavalier can make a short prayer as a standard action, filling him with confidence in his abilities. At any point in the next minute, he can receive a competence bonus on an ability check, attack roll, saving throw, or skill check equal to his Charisma modifier. He must declare that he is using this bonus before the roll is made. He can use this ability up to four times per day, once for each type of check or roll. In addition, the cavalier adds 1/2 his cavalier level to any levels of paladin or cleric he might possess for the purposes of determining the effects of channel energy or lay on hands.
I was leaning towards yes then I don't know. It seems like this order is meant to be multi-classes with a Paladin or Cleric. Any help is much appreciated thanks. :)
Thugnug
|
From the core FAQ:
Do ability modifiers from the same ability stack? For instance, can you add the same ability bonus on the same roll twice using two different effects that each add that same ability modifier?
No. An ability bonus, such as "Strength bonus", is considered to be the same source for the purpose of bonuses from the same source not stacking. However, you can still add, for instance “a deflection bonus equal to your Charisma modifier” and your Charisma modifier. For this purpose, however, the paladin's untyped "bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws" from divine grace is considered to be the same as "Charisma bonus (if any)", and the same would be true for any other untyped "bonus equal to her [ability score] bonus" constructions.
| Rajnish Umbra, Shadow Caller |
That's only in regard to untyped bonuses.
Do ability modifiers from the same ability stack? For instance, can you add the same ability bonus on the same roll twice using two different effects that each add that same ability modifier?
No. An ability bonus, such as "Strength bonus", is considered to be the same source for the purpose of bonuses from the same source not stacking. However, you can still add, for instance “a deflection bonus equal to your Charisma modifier” and your Charisma modifier. For this purpose, however, the paladin's untyped "bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws" from divine grace is considered to be the same as "Charisma bonus (if any)", and the same would be true for any other untyped "bonus equal to her [ability score] bonus" constructions.
Competence bonus equal to Charisma stacks with untyped bonus equal to Charisma.
(I| Darksol the Painbringer |
Throw in a Sacred bonus from the Bestow Grace spell for good measure...
I think this spell would fall under the "Makes no sense to target self" clause of the Ally FAQ, based on the spell description.