Can you attack creatures with Grenades directly?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

There is a contradiction in the rulebook about this that I was hoping to get clarity on. Both passages are on SF-CRB pg. 245.

The first quote says you can hit people with grenades:

Quote:

Ranged Attacks with a Thrown Weapon

With a thrown weapon or a grenade, you can make a ranged
attack at a target that is within the weapon’s maximum range
and in your line of effect
(see page 271). You add your Strength
modifier to your ranged attack rolls with a thrown weapon, and to
your damage rolls with weapons with the thrown special property.
Do not add your Strength modifier to damage rolls with grenades.

The second says you target grid intersections rather than people:

Quote:

Targeting a Grid Intersection

When using a thrown weapon that has an area effect, such as a
grenade, you target a specific grid intersection on a tactical battle
map, rather than a specific creature.
Treat this as a ranged attack
against AC 5.

Note that it does not say "you can instead target a grid intersection" like Pathfinder does - it just says "you target a grid intersection" which sounds like you have no choice. Which one is right? And if it's the former, are you targeting their full KAC? Can you crit?


The first entry is describing how thrown ranged weapons work in general. You throw it at your target, using the rules described, but a grenade's target is a grid intersection, not a creature, which the second entry clarifies.

Liberty's Edge

The first quotes does not say a grenade is attacking a creature. The grenade's targets are grid intersections, not creatures. It is attacking a target, IE a grid intersection because a grenade is an area effect weapon (page 183).

I don't see a contradiction.

Edit: Since Grenades are all explosive, they target KAC and yes, can crit.

@Psyren: you are missing what the target of an area effect weapon is, a grid intersection.

Edit 2: Bingo! :)

Dark Archive

@Sauce: That's what I thought at first too, but the first entry does specify grenades as well - see the first sentence:

"With a thrown weapon or a grenade, you can make a ranged attack at a target..."

EDIT: same response to Gary.
EDIT 2: Oh I think I see what you mean. You're saying that the "target" in the first entry, when applied to a grenade, is referring only to a grid intersection. Is that right?


Psyren wrote:
EDIT 2: Oh I think I see what you mean. You're saying that the "target" in the first entry, when applied to a grenade, is referring only to a grid intersection. Is that right?

Yes. Notice that it says "target" and not "creature." Likewise, the second entry notes that you "target a specific grid intersection."

Dark Archive

Understood now - thank you both!

Liberty's Edge

Talked a "bald" conversation. lol

Shadow Lodge

Reminds me of that time in Fallout: New Vegas when you try to instruct new soldiers on how to throw grenades, but lack the proper Explosives knowhow:

"Remember, throw the grenade directly at the target for maximum damage!"

But yeah, SF grenades aren't like PF alchemist bombs.

Dark Archive

Gary Bush wrote:
Talked a "bald" conversation. lol

Why I am so bald.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Can you attack creatures with Grenades directly? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions