Can you apply metamagic feats to cleric domain spells?


Rules Questions


Since there is specific mention that specialist wizards can do this, and no mention for clerics, I am then assuming that clerics cannot metamagic their domain spells. If I am incorrect, please let me know.
Thanks.


While the specific mention may be true, I cannot for the life of me think of one reason why they shouldn't be able to do so. If the metamagic takes up a higher slot, presumably it takes up the domain spell slot of the higher level is all. This would mean it would have to be prepared, but otherwise ... nope, can't think of any reason they wouldn't be able to do that.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

You can. They just take up domain slots. If you have a second level domain spell and you want to extend it (a +1 metamagic), then it would take up a third level domain slot. You then either cannot prepare your third level domain spell, or you have to metamagic it into a higher domain slot. As always, you have to have those domain slots to advance the spell into it.


Mauril wrote:
You can. They just take up domain slots. If you have a second level domain spell and you want to extend it (a +1 metamagic), then it would take up a third level domain slot. You then either cannot prepare your third level domain spell, or you have to metamagic it into a higher domain slot. As always, you have to have those domain slots to advance the spell into it.

+1

Liberty's Edge

just my input, i want to advised that domain spells are not able to be changed in spell level, but per the rules there is not raw reason not.

i have to say raw up to DM consideration.

Shadow Lodge

midnight756 wrote:

just my input, i want to advised that domain spells are not able to be changed in spell level, but per the rules there is not raw reason not.

i have to say raw up to DM consideration.

Just out of curiosity, why do you think they can't be?


The RAW wrote:
A cleric gains one domain spell slot for each level of cleric spell she can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a cleric can prepare one of the spells from her two domains in that slot. If a domain spell is not on the cleric spell list, a cleric can prepare it only in her domain spell slot. Domain spells cannot be used to cast spells spontaneously.

They call it a slot and say it can be used one of the spells from your domain. It doesn't state "the domain spell of that level" or anything... also, it clearly blocks the spontaneous cast, but nothing else.

Thus, for a cleric with Fire domain, a Maximized Fireball is a wonderful 6th level domain slot.


Its quite doable. "A spellcaster always has the option to fill a higher-level spell slot with a lower-level spell." This can be found under Arcane Spells-Spell Slots on page 218 and under Divine Spells-Spell Slots on page 220. Nothing suggests anywhere that this doesn't apply to domain slots.

And its a good way to utilize the best domain spells in place of weaker domain spells.

For instance, a cleric of Sarenrae with the Fire and Glory domains might not want to prepare either of her 6th lvl domain spells (undeath to death because of the material cost, and fire seeds due to the difficulty in making use of it). Instead, she uses her 6th level domain slot to prepare an extended Righteous Might, or a quickened Bless Weapon, or an empowered Wall of Fire.

I've in the past used higher level domain slots to prepare lower level domain spells that weren't even given metamagic, since I didn't have an appropriate metamagic feat for the spell and slot and I wanted the lower level spell more than the higher level spell.


Father Dale wrote:
I've in the past used higher level domain slots to prepare lower level domain spells that weren't even given metamagic, since I didn't have an appropriate metamagic feat for the spell and slot and I wanted the lower level spell more than the higher level spell.

I was going to mention this possibility as well in my justification - it's quite useful, for instance, when you know you're going to be wading through a pack of kobolds to lose the Produce Flame at 2 and take a second Burning Hands.


Pardon my asking, but if you have a cleric with the Fire domain who uses Empower Spell on fireball, making it effectively fifth level, does he still retain a third level domain spell slot since fireball is now effectively fifth level? That is, can he also prepare a non-empowered fireball for his third level domain spell?


Eric, does this post help?

Not sure if it does, that's why I'm asking.


Cheapy -- not especially, but thanks for the link.


I figured that since he says you can prep a spell a second time in a higher level domain slot, it might be applicable.


Eric, you need to look at it this way: Clerics will get 9 domain slots for spells over the course of their career. The only spells that can go in these slots are from a restricted list formed by the two chosen domains. And just like normal spells, you can prepare any domain spell in any domain slot so long as it spell level is equal to or lower than the slot.

So if a one of a Cleric's domains granted him the first level spell Obscuring Mist, he could, if he so desired, prepare Obscuring Mist in every single domain slot.

So to go to your example, yes a Fire domain Cleric could prep an empowered fireball as a 5th level domain spell, and he could still prep a regular fireball as 3rd level domain spell. Heck, if he really wanted to he could also prep a fireball in the 4th level domain slot.


Merkatz is correct. Also check out the Theologian archetype. It might be able to help you create the character you've got envisioned?


Cheapy wrote:
I figured that since he says you can prep a spell a second time in a higher level domain slot, it might be applicable.

Ah, you're right, I didn't notice that. Thanks for pointing it out. Yeah, that is rather helpful there.


Merkatz wrote:

Eric, you need to look at it this way: Clerics will get 9 domain slots for spells over the course of their career. The only spells that can go in these slots are from a restricted list formed by the two chosen domains. And just like normal spells, you can prepare any domain spell in any domain slot so long as it spell level is equal to or lower than the slot.

So if a one of a Cleric's domains granted him the first level spell Obscuring Mist, he could, if he so desired, prepare Obscuring Mist in every single domain slot.

So to go to your example, yes a Fire domain Cleric could prep an empowered fireball as a 5th level domain spell, and he could still prep a regular fireball as 3rd level domain spell. Heck, if he really wanted to he could also prep a fireball in the 4th level domain slot.

And thank you sir, and thanks to Derwalt as well. I'll make cure to check out the Theologian archetype, I should have it in my copy of Ultimate Magic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you apply metamagic feats to cleric domain spells? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.