
Artiven |

So the way magic circle is worded is ambiguous
Magic Circle:
At 8th level, an occultist learns how to draw magic circles. To draw a circle, he must have chalk, salt, blood, powdered silver, or some other appropriate substance at hand (although he can press a magic circle into a softer surface such as dirt or clay). Drawing a circle takes 1 minute and requires the occultist to expend 1 point of mental focus (either generic focus or focus from any one of his implements). Once completed, this circle functions as a permanent magic circle against any alignment of the occultist's choosing. The circle can't be against a component of the occultist's alignment (if he is lawful good, for example, it can't be a magic circle against good or law). The circle remains until its form is physically broken (for example, if the lines are smeared or the salt is scattered). Only a living creature can break the circle; environmental effects can't break it. An occultist can have only one circle created in this way at a time. If he creates a second circle, the first one loses all its magic powers. This type of magic circle can't normally be focused inward to bind an outsider.
Now I think some clarifications are needed here
1. How big or small can it be
2. If it functions like it says can you draw it and leave it to be effective on a creature
3. Is it affected by dispel magic
4. Can you carry a circle around with you say in a backpack or on a shield

quibblemuch |

Now I think some clarifications are needed here
1. How big or small can it be
2. If it functions like it says can you draw it and leave it to be effective on a creature
3. Is it affected by dispel magic
4. Can you carry a circle around with you say in a backpack or on a shield
It is a magic circle per the magic circle set of spells.

Artiven |

It is a magic circle per the magic circle set of spells.
Yes I know how magic circle works but how big do you have to draw the circle? is it portable? since it's a permanent thing can it be dispelled or does it actually have to be physically destroyed? and you give it to another person?

quibblemuch |

quibblemuch wrote:Yes I know how magic circle works but how big do you have to draw the circle? is it portable? since it's a permanent thing can it be dispelled or does it actually have to be physically destroyed? and you give it to another person?
It is a magic circle per the magic circle set of spells.
All of that information is in the spell description.
1. "a 3-ft.-diameter circle" (From the components section)
2. & 4. "Range: touch Area: 10-foot emanation from touched creature." From the rules on emanations: "An emanation spell functions like a burst spell, except that the effect continues to radiate from the point of origin for the duration of the spell." So yes, it moves with the touched creature and you can touch someone other than yourself.
3. It can be dispelled. "Permanent" just means it won't naturally expire, but you can attempt to dispel it regardless.
EDIT: There is an ambiguity in the spell description. Usually material components (in this case the 3-ft. circle): "are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process." However, the spell description (and the occultist's ability) contradict this. The specific overrules the general, and so in this case, the circle you draw as part of the casting (or supernatural occultist ability) doesn't get annihilated.
Also, the "circle" (10-ft. emanation) that follows the target around isn't the same "circle" as the 3-ft. diameter drawn one. And the spell descriptor uses "circle" to describe both the 3-ft. diameter and the emanation.
If this seems confusing and like it could be clearer, I agree with you.
EDIT 2: Here's how it would work in practice:
Step 1: Occultist draws 3-ft. diameter circle on a surface as part of using this supernatural ability.
Step 2: Occultist touches a creature (including possibly themselves) to finish using the supernatural ability.
Step 3: The creature now emanates a 10-foot radius emanation that gives the benefits as described in the magic circle against... spell description.
Step 4: The creature can move around. As long as the 3-ft. circle isn't disturbed or the effect isn't targeted for dispel, everything is fine.