Large Creatures and Reach Weapons?


Rules Questions


On page 182 in the core rulebook it states, "Reach...Wielding a weapon with reach gives you 10 feet of reach for attacks with that weapon." I can play as a large race with 10 foot reach. So, do reach weapons not benefit large or larger races, even hurting huge races? It seems odd that the Dragonkin's racial weapon has reach when it doesn't help them at all.

I checked the Pathfinder CRB, and I had always thought it was 'add 5 to your reach,' but it is the same as Starfinder.


Eh, it's meant to work as it does in Pathfinder (I think) which is that it doubles your reach.

Liberty's Edge

Yea it extends the natural reach by 10'.

The Exchange

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Gary Bush wrote:

Yea it extends the natural reach by 10'.

Actually it does not work like pathfinder where your reach is doubled by a reach weapon (in this case going from 10 to 20 for a large creature.) In starfinder, reach weapons extend your natural reach 5 more feet. So a creature with a 10 foot natural reach will have a reach of 15 feet with a weapon with the reach property.

The relevant rule is on page 255 of the CRB,

For small and medium creatures:

"A creature’s natural reach refers to its reach in melee combat when it is not wielding a weapon with the reach special property. Small and Medium creatures have a natural reach of 5 feet. When wielding a weapon with the reach special property, you threaten all squares that you can reach with your weapon. This typically extends a Small or Medium creature’s reach to 10 feet."

For large and larger creatures:

"Creatures that take up more than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 10 feet or more. Such a creature usually can make an attack of opportunity against you if you approach it, because you must enter and move within the range of its reach before you can attack it. You do not provoke this attack of opportunity if you take a guarded step to approach it. When wielding a weapon with the reach special property, such creatures extend their reach by 5 feet."


Thanks guys


Wow Shadius, thanks for the correction. I would have never spotted that.

Of course, since PC chaarcters are usually medium or small it probably wouldn't have been a big issue, but it is interesting to know that it doesn't work like Pathfinder.

Liberty's Edge

Thanks Shaudius!


Shaudius wrote:

For large and larger creatures:

"Creatures that take up more than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 10 feet or more. Such a creature usually can make an attack of opportunity against you if you approach it, because you must enter and move within the range of its reach before you can attack it. You do not provoke this attack of opportunity if you take a guarded step to approach it. When wielding a weapon with the reach special property, such creatures extend their reach by 5 feet."

Ok, but does this affect your ability to threaten squares closer to the creature? If I have a Large PC with a reach weapon, can I still attack enemies in adjacent squares? Do I threaten all 15 feet of squares surrounding me?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Starfinder does not have a dead zone that is too close to threaten with reach weapons, like Pathfinder did.


HammerJack wrote:
Starfinder does not have a dead zone that is too close to threaten with reach weapons, like Pathfinder did.

Awesome. Thank you, Hammerjack, for that swift reply!

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Large Creatures and Reach Weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.